Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg was a county (Grafschaft), most of which is located in the present district of Siegen-Wittgenstein, Germany (in the modern state of North Rhine-Westphalia). Its seat was the town and palace in Berleburg (now Bad Berleburg). Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg was a partition of Sayn-Wittgenstein in the 16th century; the southern and more-developed portion was the County of Sayn-Wittgenstein-Wittgenstein with its seat Laaspe (now Bad Laasphe). Wittgenstein-Berleburg was raised from a county to a principality (Reichsfürstentum) in 1792, and was mediatised to the Grand Duchy of Hesse in 1806 before being annexed to Prussia in 1816. Members of the House of Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg have married into numerous European royal houses.

Other related articles:

Counts and Reigning Princes - Reigning Princes of Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg (1792–1806)
... Christian Heinrich, 1st Prince of Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg (1753–1800, ruled as Fürst 1792–1800) Albrecht, 2nd Prince of Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg (1777–1851, ruled 1800–1806 ...