Royal Geological Society of Cornwall

The Royal Geological Society of Cornwall is a geological society based in Cornwall in the United Kingdom. It was founded in 1814 to promote the study of the geology of Cornwall, and is the second oldest geological society in the world.

The first President of the society was Davies Gilbert, the first Secretary John Ayrton Paris, and other notable members include Humphry Davy (some of whose papers are held by the Society), and William Gregor, who discovered titanium.

The society is based in Penzance.

Read more about Royal Geological Society Of Cornwall:  Notable People Associated With The Society, Bolitho Medal

Other articles related to "royal geological society of cornwall":

Royal Geological Society Of Cornwall - Bolitho Medal
... The society awards the Bolitho Medal for notable achievement in geology ... The first award was made to Robert Etheridge in 1896 ...

Famous quotes containing the words society, geological and/or royal:

    I have never yet spoken from a public platform about women in industry that someone has not said, “But things are far better than they used to be.” I confess to impatience with persons who are satisfied with a dangerously slow tempo of progress for half of society in an age which requires a much faster tempo than in the days that “used to be.” Let us use what might be instead of what has been as our yardstick!
    Mary Barnett Gilson (1877–?)

    The crystal sphere of thought is as concentrical as the geological structure of the globe. As our soils and rocks lie in strata, concentric strata, so do all men’s thinkings run laterally, never vertically.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)

    Here was a royal fellowship of death.
    William Shakespeare (1564–1616)