Roanoke Region

The Roanoke Region is the area of the Commonwealth of Virginia surrounding the city of Roanoke. Its usage may refer to the metropolitan statistical area or the Roanoke Valley, but it sometimes includes areas in the Allegheny Mountains and New River Valley which includes Alleghany county, Montgomery county, Covington, Blacksburg, Christiansburg, and Radford. Rarely, it may include Bedford County and Floyd County.

The Roanoke Region, excluding communities in the New River Valley, has a population of 316,802. If including the New River Valley, its population is 475,130.

Both the Roanoke Region and the Roanoke MSA are sometimes referred to as the Roanoke Valley (or Greater Roanoke Valley) and are often included in the NewVa region. The Roanoke Valley, however, more accurately describes the geographic depression between the Blue Ridge Mountains where many of the region's communities are located (see Roanoke Valley). Notable places and landmarks in the Roanoke Region include the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Blue Ridge Mountains, the Allegheny Mountains, the Roanoke River, Virginia Tech, the Mill Mountain Star, the Booker T. Washington monument, the Fincastle Court House, and Smith Mountain Lake.

Read more about Roanoke Region:  Economy and Major Industries, Geography and Climate, Culture, Education

Other articles related to "roanoke region, roanoke":

Roanoke Region - Education
... There are 11 institutes of higher education in the Roanoke Region, including several colleges within Virginia Tech ... Colleges and Universities include Virginia Tech Roanoke College Hollins University Southern Virginia University Ferrum College Jefferson College of the Health Sciences National ... The Roanoke Higher Education Center, located in downtown Roanoke, is the satellite campus for a number of Virginia state universities and colleges ...

Famous quotes containing the word region:

    Death is only a launching into the region of the strange Untried; it is but the first salutation to the possibilities of the immense Remote, the Wild, the Watery, the Unshored.
    Herman Melville (1819–1891)