Regions of Belarus

Regions Of Belarus

At the top level of administration, the Eastern European country of Belarus is divided into six voblasts (meaning "provinces" or "regions") and the city of Minsk, which has a special status being the capital of Belarus. Minsk is also the capital of Minsk Region.

At the second level, the voblasts are divided into raions ("districts").

The layout and extent of the voblasts were set in 1960 when Belarus (then Byelorussian SSR) was a part of the Soviet Union.

Read more about Regions Of Belarus:  History, Map

Other articles related to "regions of belarus, of belarus, belarus":

Outline Of Belarus - Geography of Belarus - Regions of Belarus - Administrative Divisions of Belarus
... Main article Administrative divisions of Belarus Provinces of Belarus. ...
Regions Of Belarus - Map
... Regions of Belarus Subdivision Capital Belarusian Population (2009 estimate) Area (km2) Density Percentage of Belarus All Belarus Minsk Беларусь 9,671,900 ...

Famous quotes containing the words regions of and/or regions:

    Nature seems to have taken a particular Care to disseminate her Blessings among the different Regions of the World, with an Eye to this mutual Intercourse and Traffick among Mankind, that the Natives of the several Parts of the Globe might have a kind of Dependance [sic] upon one another, and be united together by their common Interest.
    Joseph Addison (1672–1719)

    Within the regions of the air,
    Compassed about with heavens fair,
    Great tracts of land there may be found
    Enriched with fields and fertile ground;
    Where many numerous hosts
    In those far distant coasts,
    For other great and glorious ends,
    Inhabit, my yet unknown friends.
    Thomas Traherne (1636–1674)