Puebla, officially Free and Sovereign State of Puebla (Spanish: Estado Libre y Soberano de Puebla), is one of the 31 states which, with the Federal District, comprise the 32 Federal Entities of Mexico. It is divided in 217 municipalities and its capital city is Puebla.

It is located in East-Central Mexico. It is bordered by the states of Veracruz to the north and east, Hidalgo, México, Tlaxcala and Morelos to the west, Guerrero and Oaxaca to the south.

The origins of the state lie in the city of Puebla, which was founded by the Spanish in this valley in 1531 to secure the trade route between Mexico City and the port of Veracruz.

By the end of the 18th century, the area had become a colonial province with its own governor, which would become the State of Puebla, after the Mexican War of Independence in the early 19th century. Since that time, the area, especially around the capital city, has continued to grow economically, mostly through industry, despite being the scene of a number of battles, the most notable of which being the Battle of Puebla. Today, the state is one of the most industrialized in the country, but since most of its development is concentrated in Puebla and other cities, many of its rural areas are very poor, forcing many to migrate away to places such as Mexico City and the United States.

Culturally, the state is home to the China Poblana, mole poblano, active literary and arts scenes and festivals such as Cinco de Mayo, Ritual of Quetzalcoatl, Day of the Dead celebrations (especially in Huaquechula) and Carnival (especially in Huejotzingo). It is home to five major indigenous groups: Nahuas, the Totonacas, the Mixtecas, the Popolocas and the Otomi, which can mostly be found in the far north and the far south of the state.

Read more about Puebla:  Geography and Ecology, History, Demographics, Archeological Sites, Gastronomy, Myths and Legends, Education, Government, Major Communities, Notable Natives and Residents

Other articles related to "puebla":

La Puebla De Arganzón
... La Puebla de Arganzón (also written Lapuebla de Arganzón is a municipality located in the province of Burgos, Castile and León, Spain ... La Puebla de Arganzón and the adjacent municipality of Condado de Treviño together constitute the enclave of Treviño, part of the territory of Burgos, surrounded by the Basque province of Álava ... La Puebla de Arganzón has a surface area of 18.87 square kilometres (7.29 sq mi) with a population of 529 and a population density of 28.03 per square ...
Andrés Muciño - Biography
... Enrique Andrés Muciño Castro was born on December 27, 1991 in Puebla, Puebla, Mexico ... Universidad Popular Autónoma del Estado de Puebla ... to study with the Japanese pianist, Misa Ito at the Fundación Universidad de las Américas, Puebla ...
Lobos De La BUAP - History
... went on to leave the club and join the owners board of the other local Puebla club Puebla FC, leaving the club to the Deportment of Physical Studies of Puebla ...
San Mateo Ozolco, Puebla
... San Mateo Ozolco is a community of around 500 people on the slopes of Popocatépetl in Puebla, Mexico ...