Preserved Counties of Wales

The preserved counties of Wales are the current areas used in Wales for the ceremonial purposes of lieutenancy and shrievalty. They are based on the counties created by the Local Government Act 1972 and used for local government and other purposes between 1974 and 1996.

Read more about Preserved Counties Of WalesUsage, Boundary Changes, List of Preserved Counties

Other articles related to "preserved counties of wales, wales, preserved counties, counties":

Subdivisions Of Wales - Preserved Counties of Wales
... See also Preserved counties of Wales For ceremonial purposes of Lieutenancy and Shrievalty, Wales is divided into 8 preserved counties which are based on the counties created by the ...
Preserved Counties Of Wales - List of Preserved Counties
... for National Statistics, grouping component unitary authority area figures into their respective preserved counties ...

Famous quotes containing the words wales and/or preserved:

    I just come and talk to the plants, really—very important to talk to them, they respond I find.
    Charles, Prince Of Wales (b. 1948)

    The wisdom of the wise, and the experience of ages, may be preserved by quotation.
    Isaac D’Israeli (1766–1848)