Politics of Ireland

Politics Of Ireland

On the island of Ireland there are two jurisdictions: Northern Ireland, a province of the United Kingdom, and the Republic of Ireland, a sovereign state. Since the Anglo-Irish Treaty of 1922, these two jurisdictions are governed separately. The Good Friday Agreement of 1998 created a framework of shared political institutions between the two parts of Ireland. The Good Friday Agreement also facilitated the restoration of self-government to Northern Ireland, subject to a number of reserved and excepted matters.

Thus, there are three administrations that govern the island of Ireland:

  • Northern Ireland:
    • Government of the United Kingdom (reserved and excepted matters)
    • Northern Ireland Executive (all other matters)
  • Republic of Ireland:
    • Government of Ireland (all matters)

In addition to these, both the Republic of Ireland and the United Kingdom are member states of the European Union.

Read more about Politics Of Ireland:  Good Friday Institutions, Political Parties and Other Bodies

Famous quotes containing the words ireland and/or politics:

    The tragedy of Northern Ireland is that it is now a society in which the dead console the living.
    Jack Holland (b. 1947)

    All politics takes place on a slippery slope. The most important four words in politics are “up to a point.”
    George F. Will (b. 1941)