Piura Region

Piura Region

Piura is a coastal region in northwestern Peru. The region's capital is Piura and its largest port cities, Paita and Talara, are also among the most important in Peru. The area is known for its warm tropical and dry or semi-tropical beaches.

The country's latest decentralization program is in hiatus after the proposal to merge departments was defeated in the national referendum in October 2005. The referendum held on October 30, 2005, as part of the ongoing decentralization process in Peru, to decide whether the region would merge with the current regions of Lambayeque and Tumbes to create a new Región Norte was defeated.

Read more about Piura RegionGeography, History, Culture and Customs of Piura, Political Division

Other articles related to "region, piura region, piura":

Lambayeque Region - Geography
... The territory of the Lambayeque Region is made up of wide plains irrigated by rivers from the Andes in most of the arid area, irrigation is needed to support any farming ... In addition, Lambayeque and the Piura Region provide most of the rice crops consumed in Peru. 2 billion m3 annually of water from the Huancabamba River in the Cajamarca Region east of Lambayeque ...
Piura Region - Political Division
... The region is divided into 8 provinces (Spanish provincias, singular provincia), which are composed of 64 districts (distritos, singular distrito) ... are Ayabaca (Ayabaca) Huancabamba (Huancabamba) Morropón (Chulucanas) Paita (Paita) Piura (Piura) Sechura (Sechura) Sullana (Sullana) Talara (Talara) ...

Famous quotes containing the word region:

    Then, that no region of the universe
    Should remain void of life, the floor of heaven
    Was peopled with the stars and godlike forms,
    The seas became the abode of glittering fish.
    Earth took the beasts and mobile air the birds.
    A holier animal was wanting.
    Ovid (Publius Ovidius Naso)