Peterborough (UK Parliament Constituency)

Peterborough (UK Parliament Constituency)

Peterborough is a borough constituency represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom, formally styled The Honourable the Commons of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland in Parliament assembled. It elects one Member of Parliament by the first past the post system of election.

The serving Member is the Conservative, Stewart Jackson . He defeated Labour's Helen Clark in the 2005 general election, and was re-elected in 2010, when Peterborough was 48th on Labour's list of target seats.

Read more about Peterborough (UK Parliament Constituency):  Boundaries, Franchise, Members of Parliament

Other related articles:

Peterborough (UK Parliament Constituency) - Elections - 1980–1989
... General Election 1987 Peterborough Party Candidate Votes % ±% Conservative Dr ... Brian Mawhinney 30,624 49.4 +2.3 Labour Andrew MacKinlay 20,840 33.7 +4.7 Liberal D W Green 9,984 16.1 N/A Green N A Callaghan 506 0.8 −0.1 Majority 9,784 15.7 Turnout 61,951 73.5 +0.2 Conservative hold Swing −1.2 General Election 1983 Peterborough Party Candidate Votes % ±% Conservative Dr ...

Famous quotes containing the word parliament:

    At the ramparts on the cliff near the old Parliament House I counted twenty-four thirty-two-pounders in a row, pointed over the harbor, with their balls piled pyramid-wise between them,—there are said to be in all about one hundred and eighty guns mounted at Quebec,—all which were faithfully kept dusted by officials, in accordance with the motto, “In time of peace prepare for war”; but I saw no preparations for peace: she was plainly an uninvited guest.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)