Peace River (provincial Electoral District)

Peace River (provincial Electoral District)

Peace River is a provincial electoral district in Alberta, Canada. The district is mandated to return a single member to the Legislative Assembly of Alberta using the first past the post method of voting. The district used single transferable vote from 1926 to 1957.

The electoral district was created in 1905 and contains the area in the most northwestern parts of Alberta, Canada along the Alberta, British Columbia and Northwest Territories border. In recent years, the district has been a Progressive Conservative strong hold, but candidates from every governing party have held this district since it was created. Incorporated towns include Peace River, High Level, Manning and Rainbow Lake. Ft. Vermillion and La Crete also have significant population.

Read more about Peace River (provincial Electoral District):  History

Other related articles:

Peace River (provincial Electoral District) - Student Vote Results - 2012 Election
... 2012 Alberta Student Vote results Affiliation Candidate Votes % Progressive Conservative Frank Oberle % Wildrose Alan Forsyth % Liberal Remi Tardif % NDP Wanda Laurin % Total ' 100%. ...

Famous quotes containing the words electoral, peace and/or river:

    Power is action; the electoral principle is discussion. No political action is possible when discussion is permanently established.
    HonorĂ© De Balzac (1799–1850)

    I sometimes wonder whether, in the still, sleepless hours of the night, the consciences of ... professional gossips do not stalk them. I myself believe in a final reckoning, when we shall be held accountable for our misdeeds. Do they? If so, they have cause to worry over many scoops that brought them a day’s dubious laurels and perhaps destroyed someone’s peace forever.
    Mary Pickford (1893–1979)

    “I’ll love you dear, I’ll love you
    Till China and Africa meet,
    And the river jumps over the mountain
    And the salmon sing in the street.
    —W.H. (Wystan Hugh)