Patani (region)

Patani (region)

Patani (in Malay, or Pattani, (derived from Jawi: ڤتنا), also sometimes Patani Raya, or "Greater Patani") is a term that has been used to describe a region comprising the southern Thai provinces of Pattani, Yala (Jala), Narathiwat (Menara), and parts of Songkhla (Singgora), together with much of the northern part of modern peninsular Malaysia.

Patani is historically similar to sultanates such as Singgora (Songkhla), Ligor (Nakhon Si Thammarat), and Lingga (near Surat Thani): Patani was a semi-independent Malay sultanate paying tribute to the Siamese kingdoms of Sukhothai and Ayutthaya. After Ayutthaya fell to the Burmese in 1767, the Sultanate of Patani gained full independence, but under King Rama I, it again came under Siam's control.

A modern separatist movement has sought the establishment of a Malay Islamic state, Patani Darussalam, encompassing the three southern Thai provinces. This campaign has taken a violent turn in recent years, resulting in an insurgency across southern Thailand and the imposition of martial law.

Read more about Patani (region):  Early History, Siamese Rule, Greater Malay Patani State, Resistance Movements in Patani, Current Insurgency

Other articles related to "patani":

Patani (region) - Current Insurgency
... Pataniseparatist groups, most notably the PataniUnited Liberation Organization (PULO), began to use violent tactics in 2001 ...