Northern Cape

The Northern Cape (Afrikaans: Noord-Kaap) is the largest and most sparsely populated province of South Africa. It was created in 1994 when the Cape Province was split up. Its capital is Kimberley. It includes the Kalahari Gemsbok National Park, part of an international park shared with Botswana. It also includes the Augrabies Falls and the diamond mining regions in Kimberley and Alexander Bay. The Namaqualand region in the west is famous for its Namaqualand daisies. The southern towns of De Aar and Colesberg, in the Great Karoo, are major transport nodes between Johannesburg, Cape Town and Port Elizabeth. In the northeast, Kuruman is famous as a mission station and also for its 'eye'. The Orange River flows through the province, forming the borders with the Free State in the southeast and with Namibia to the northwest. The river is also used to irrigate the many vineyards in the arid region near Upington.

Native speakers of Afrikaans comprise a higher percentage of the population in the Northern Cape than in any other province. The Northern Cape's four official languages are Afrikaans, Tswana, Xhosa, and English. Minorities speak the other official languages of South Africa, and a few people speak Khoisan languages such as Nama and Khwe.

The provincial motto, Sa ||a !aĩsi 'uĩsi (“We go to a better life”), is in the Nǀu language of the Nǁnǂe (ǂKhomani) people. It was given in 1997 by one of the language's last speakers, Ms. Elsie Vaalbooi of Rietfontein, who has since died. It was South Africa's first officially registered motto in a Khoisan language. Subsequently, South Africa's national motto, !Ke e /xarra //ke, was derived from the extinct Northern Cape ǀXam language.

Read more about Northern CapeHistory, Geography, Climate, Municipalities, Cities and Towns, Economy, Demographics

Other articles related to "northern, cape, northern cape":

List Of Postal Codes In South Africa
... Code Range Area Northern Region (Gauteng, Mpumalanga, most of North West, Limpopo) 0001–0299 Gauteng—Pretoria/Tshwane 0300–0499 North West—northern part 0500–0698 Limpopo—south and ... Natal—Griqualand East and Umzinkulu Southern Region (Eastern Cape, eastern parts of Western Cape) 4731–5199 Eastern Cape—Former Transkei 5200–5299 Eastern Cape—East London 5300–5499 ...
Loxton, Northern Cape
... Loxton is a town in the Karoo region of South Africa's Northern Cape province ... It is a wool-producing centre in the Ubuntu Local Municipality of the Pixley ka Seme District Municipality and one of the largest garlic-producing areas in South Africa ...
Northern Cape - Demographics
... Since 2001, the majority of the Northern Cape population has been Coloured ... people still follow their traditional hunter-gatherer lifestyle in the Kalahari area of the Northern Cape ...
High Courts Of South Africa - Divisions
... Court Seat Jurisdiction Previous name Eastern Cape High Court, Bhisho Bhisho Former Ciskei Ciskei Division or Supreme Court of Ciskei Eastern Cape High Court, Grahamstown Grahamstown Eastern Cape ...

Famous quotes containing the words cape and/or northern:

    A solitary traveler whom we saw perambulating in the distance loomed like a giant. He appeared to walk slouchingly, as if held up from above by straps under his shoulders, as much as supported by the plain below. Men and boys would have appeared alike at a little distance, there being no object by which to measure them. Indeed, to an inlander, the Cape landscape is a constant mirage.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)

    [During the Renaissance] the Italians said, “We are one in the Father: we will go back.” The Northern races said, “We are one in Christ, we will go on.”
    —D.H. (David Herbert)