Niger State

Niger State is a state in North Western Nigeria and the largest state in the country. The state capital is Minna, and other major cities are Bida, Kontagora, and Suleja. It was formed in 1976 when the then North-Western State was bifurcated into Niger State and Sokoto State.

The state is named for the River Niger. Two of Nigeria's major hydroelectric power stations, the Kainji Dam and the Shiroro Dam, are located in Niger State; also situated there is Kainji National Park, the largest National Park of Nigeria, which contains Kainji Lake, the Borgu Game Reserve and the Zugurma Game Reserve.

Read more about Niger State:  Government

Other articles related to "state, niger state":

Sani Bello - Career
... Supreme Commander (Nigeria’s first military head of state) Major General Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi, Company Commander, Assistant Quarter Master General of 3rd ... He was also a Military Governor of the old Kano State from 1975 – 1978 ... in 1979, Colonel Bello held various part time appointments as chairman of Niger State Green Revolution, Niger State NYSC, Niger State Polytechnic and Niger State Science and ...
Niger State - Government - Administrative Subdivisions
... Niger State is divided into 25 Local Government Areas ... Agaie Agwara Bida Borgu Bosso Chanchaga Edati Gbako Gurara Katcha Kontagora Lapai Lavun Magama Mariga Mashegu Mokwa Munya Paikoro Rafi Rijau Shiroro Suleja Tafa Wushishi ...

Famous quotes containing the word state:

    The longer a woman remains single, the more apprehensive she will be of entering into the state of wedlock. At seventeen or eighteen, a girl will plunge into it, sometimes without either fear or wit; at twenty, she will begin to think; at twenty-four, will weigh and discriminate; at twenty-eight, will be afraid of venturing; at thirty, will turn about, and look down the hill she has ascended, and sometimes rejoice, sometimes repent, that she has gained that summit sola.
    Samuel Richardson (1689–1761)