Netherlands in The Eurovision Song Contest - Commentators


Over the years NOS/TROS commentary has been provided by several experienced radio and television presenters, including Willem Duys, Ivo Niehe, Pim Jacobs, Ati Dijckmeester and Paul de Leeuw. Willem van Beusekom provided NOS TV commentary every year from 1987 until 2005. However on November 7, 2005 it was announced that Van Beusekom would quit his role as Dutch commentator saying "It's good to step back". He was replaced by his co-commentator Cornald Maas who commentated on the contest from 2004 until 2010. On June 29, 2010 Maas was sacked as commentator after putting insults on Twitter about Sieneke, Joran van der Sloot and the Party for Freedom (PVV).

The current Dutch Commentators are Daniël Dekker and Jan Smit.

Year(s) Commentators Dual Commentators Spokesperoson
1956 Piet te Nuyl No Dual Commentator No Spokesperson
1957 unknown
1958 Siebe van der Zee Piet te Nuyl
1959 Piet te Nuyl Siebe van der Zee
1962 Willem Duys Ger Lugtenburg
1963 Pim Jacobs
1964 Ageeth Scherphuis
1965 Teddy Scholten
1967 Leo Nelissen Ellen Blazer
1968 Elles Berger Willem Duys
1969 Pim Jacobs Leo Nelissen
1970 Flip van der Schalie
1971 No Spokesperson
1974 Willem Duys Dick van Bommel
1977 Ati Dijckmeester Ralph Inbar
1978 Willem Duys Dick van Bommel
1979 Ivo Niehe
1980 Pim Jacobs Flip van der Schalie
1983 Willem Duys
1984 Ivo Niehe
1985 Gerrit den Braber Netherlands did not participate
1986 Leo van der Goot Joop van Zijl
1987 Willem van Beusekom Ralph Inbar
1988 Joop van Os
1991 No television broadcast Netherlands did not participate
1992 Willem van Beusekom Herman Slager
1993 Joop van Os
1995 Paul de Leeuw Netherlands did not participate
1996 Willem van Beusekom Marga Bult
1997 Corry Brokken
1998 Conny Vandenbos
1999 Edsilia Rombley
2000 Marlayne
2002 Netherlands did not participate
2003 Marlayne
2004 Cornald Maas Esther Hart
2005 Nancy Coolen
2006 Cornald Maas Paul de Leeuw Paul de Leeuw
2008 No Dual Commentator Esther Hart
2009 Yolanthe Sneijder-Cabau
2010 Daniël Dekker
2011 Jan Smit Mandy Huydts
2012 Viviënne van den Assem

Read more about this topic:  Netherlands In The Eurovision Song Contest

Other articles related to "commentators, commentator":

John Perlman - Whistle-blowing On SABC Blacklist
... SABC spokesperson Kaizer Kganyago's denial that the SABC had an editorial blacklist of commentators critical of the South African government or president ... report entirely vindicated Perlman's statement, finding that there was an arbitrary blacklist of commentators who SABC staff were instructed not to consult ... and recommended that new guidelines on commentators be developed through wide consultation in and outside the SABC ...
Commentaries On Aristotle - Commentators in The Latin West
... at first through translations of commentators and their basis texts from Arabic, and later through translations from Greek of Aristotle's original text (notably by William of Moerbeke) and of the Greek ...
... The postglossators or commentators formed a European legal school which arose in France in the fourteenth century ... Bartolus was the most famous of the commentators ... Rather than simply seeking to explain the law, the commentators were more concerned with the potential for practical application of the law ...
BBC Sport - Television Sports Rights - Football - Commentators
... The BBC's main commentator is Guy Mowbray ... Their other commentators are Jonathan Pearce who was a leading commentator for Five, Steve Wilson, Simon Brotherton who also contributes to BBC Radio Five Live and ... BBC Sport Scotland's main commentator is Paul Mitchell ...
Legal Humanists - Impact
... notaries remained faithful to the commentaries because the work of the commentators had been better circulated ... Since they already knew the works of the commentators, they had a vested interest in ensuring that they remained the basis of the court system ... The humanists and commentators had reached the point where they acknowledged a large number of ways that agreement could be “clothed” in order to give rise to legal action, however ...