Neath North

Neath North is an electoral ward of Neath Port Talbot county borough, Wales falling within the community of Neath.

Neath North includes some or all of the neighbourhoods of Llantwit and Neath town centre in the parliamentary constituency of Neath. It is bounded by the wards of Bryncoch South to the northwest; Cadoxton to the North; Tonna to the northeast; Cimla to the southeast; Neath South to the south; and Neath East to the southwest.

In the 2012 local council elections, the electorate turnout was 34.69%. The results were:

Candidate Party Votes Status
Alan Lockyer Labour 709 Labour hold
Mark Protheroe Labour 628 Labour hold
Dai Howells Independent 341
Basil Ip Conservative 188
Electoral wards of Neath Port Talbot county borough
  • Aberavon
  • Baglan
  • Briton Ferry East
  • Briton Ferry West
  • Bryn and Cwmavon
  • Coedffranc Central
  • Coedffranc North
  • Coedffranc West
  • Cymmer
  • Glyncorrwg
  • Gwynfi
  • Margam
  • Port Talbot
  • Sandfields East
  • Sandfields West
  • Tai-Bach
  • Aberdulais
  • Allt-Wen
  • Blaengwrach
  • Bryncoch North
  • Bryncoch South
  • Cadoxton
  • Cimla
  • Crynant
  • Cwmllynfell
  • Dyffryn
  • Glynneath
  • Godre'r Graig
  • Gwaun-Cae-Gurwen
  • Lower Brynamman
  • Neath East
  • Neath North
  • Neath South
  • Onllwyn
  • Pelenna
  • Pontardawe
  • Resolven
  • Rhos
  • Seven Sisters
  • Tonna
  • Trebanos
  • Ystalyfera

Coordinates: 51°39′41″N 3°48′26″W / 51.66146°N 3.80718°W / 51.66146; -3.80718

Famous quotes containing the word north:

    We might hypothetically possess ourselves of every technological resource on the North American continent, but as long as our language is inadequate, our vision remains formless, our thinking and feeling are still running in the old cycles, our process may be “revolutionary” but not transformative.
    Adrienne Rich (b. 1929)