National Theatre, Melbourne

The National Theatre is a 783 seat Australian theatre and theatrical arts school located in the Melbourne bayside suburb of St Kilda, on the corner of Barkly and Carlisle Streets. The building was constructed in 1921 as The Victory Theatre (3000 seat cinema), rebuilt as 2550 seat cinema in 1928, finally converted to a live venue 1972/4 with 783 seats.

The original National Theatre Movement (current owners) was established in 1935 by soprano Gertrude Johnson. After returning from an overseas career that included performing at Convent Garden, Miss Johnson was dismayed at the lack of training and performing opportunities for Australian artists in their own country. To that end the National Theatre included an opera school(1935), drama school(1936) and ballet school (1939). Production Companies (three Arts Festivals) ran through the 1940s and 1950s.

The National Theatre Movement had previously occupied the Village Theatre in Toorak (destroyed by fire in April 1962) and then purchased (but not occupied)the Empress Theatre in Prahran, destroyed by fire in June 1971.

The building now occupied by the National Theatre was built in the Beaux Arts style as a 3000 seat cinema and opened in 1920 as the Victory Theatre. In 1971 Hoyts (a company that operates movie theaters) offered the company the Victory Theatre for conversion to a live theatre and rehearsal spaces. The current theatre consists of the original Victory dress circle extended with the addition of a sizeable stage and a fly tower. The original stalls were converted into five studios for drama, opera and ballet. One of the studios is itself a theatrette. The theatre opened in its current guise in August 1974, while the schools and administration moved there in September 1972.

The National Theatre drama school dates from 1936, while the ballet school dates from 1939 and is the oldest in Australia. The ballet school currently conducts Royal Academy of Dance examinations and has ballet performances in the middle of the year and in December. The opera school merged with the Victorian College of the Arts in 1980. It was closed by the VCA in 2006 but the National Theatre now supports the new Opera School (Melbourne) established independently in 2008.

The current artistic director (ballet) of the National Theatre is Beverly Jane Fry and of drama is Ken Boucher. Other dance artistic directors have included Kathleen Gorham and Gailene Stock.

Other articles related to "national, melbourne":

Regina, Saskatchewan - Culture
... at Regina College (the University's predecessor) who gained national fame in the 1950s ... city hall after the demolition of the 1906 City Hall, is now home to the Globe Theatre, founded in 1966 as "Saskatchewan's first professional theatre since 1927." Holy Rosary Roman ...
IMAX - Gallery
... the LG IMAX in Sydney, Australia, the largest screen in the world IMAX at the Melbourne Museum in Melbourne, Australia ... Theater at San Antonio, Texas, United States IMAX at the National Museum of the United States Air Force – Dayton, Ohio Imax21-1.jpg The 21 Cineplex IMAX theatre in Jakarta, Indonesia ...
Yaron Lifschitz - Productions - 2000
... Premiered at Powerhouse Theatre, Brisbane on 6 June 2000 ... Performed at Powerhouse Theatre, Brisbane on 5 May 2000 and 6 May 2000 ...
Yaron Lifschitz
... over 50 productions including mainstage theatre, physical theatre, large scale events and opera ... In 1991 he graduated from the Directing course at National Institute of Dramatic Art (NIDA) in Sydney, Australia ...

Famous quotes containing the word national:

    “Five o’clock tea” is a phrase our “rude forefathers,” even of the last generation, would scarcely have understood, so completely is it a thing of to-day; and yet, so rapid is the March of the Mind, it has already risen into a national institution, and rivals, in its universal application to all ranks and ages, and as a specific for “all the ills that flesh is heir to,” the glorious Magna Charta.
    Lewis Carroll [Charles Lutwidge Dodgson] (1832–1898)