Mumbai Indians

The Mumbai Indians is a franchise cricket team representing the city of Mumbai in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team is one of the eight founding members of the IPL in 2008. They are one of the main teams in the city, together with clubs like the Mumbai cricket team and football club Mumbai FC. The team is owned by India's biggest conglomerate, Reliance Industries, through its 100% subsidiary IndiaWin Sports. The primary home ground of the Mumbai Indians is the Wankhede Stadium.

The Mumbai Indians are currently captained by Rohit Sharma, and coached by John Wright. They won the 2011 Champions League Twenty20 after beating IPL rivals Royal Challengers Bangalore by 31 runs in the final. The team won its first IPL title, in 2013, by defeating Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs in the finals played at Kolkata. Rohit Sharma is the leading run-getter of the team while Lasith Malinga is the leading wicket-taker.

Read more about Mumbai IndiansHistory, Players, Honours, Complete Players List, Current Squad, Players' Salaries, Former Players, Home Ground, Administration, Sponsors and Partners, Education For All

Other articles related to "indian, mumbai indians, mumbai":

Chennai Super Kings - History - 2011 Season
2011 Indian Premier League The Chennai Super Kings retained 4 players for the 2011 Indian Premier League which include MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Murali Vijay and Albie ... This match was followed by another thriller against Mumbai Indians which the Super Kings lost by 8 runs as Mumbai's spinner Harbhajan Singh achieved his career-best T20 figures of 5/18 in ... record of becoming the first team to win all their home matches in the history of the Indian Premier League ...
James Franklin (cricketer) - Indian Premier League
... season of the IPL, Franklin was contracted by Mumbai Indians for US$100,000 ... James Franklin was awarded Man of the Match in match 70 of the IPL between the Mumbai Indians and the Kolkata Knight Riders for his contributions of both bat and ball (45. 4 balls) and with Ambati Rayudu hitting a six off the last ball, sealed a stunning victory for the Mumbai Indians to finish 3rd in the IPL standings ...
Mumbai Indians - Fixtures and Results - IPL 2013 Season
... Mumbai Indians 2013 IPL Fixtures No. 3 02013-04-09April 9, 2013 Delhi Daredevils Mumbai Won by 44 runs MoM – Dinesh Karthik 86 (48) Scorecard 4 02013-04-13April 13, 2013 Pune Warriors India ...
Indian Premier League - Statistics and Records - Winners
... Fourth place Teams 2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians Royal Challengers Bangalore Deccan Chargers 2011 ... Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore Mumbai Indians Kolkata ...
Chennai Super Kings - History - 2010 Season
2010 Indian Premier League The Super Kings added Justin Kemp and Thisara Perera to their roster, one filling an empty slot while the other serving as a substitute to Andrew Flintoff, who had planned to ... At Mumbai, Suresh Raina smashed an unbeaten 83 to take his team to 180/2 in 20 overs ... But, the home team Mumbai Indians chased down this total, thanks to their openers Sachin Tendulkar and Shikhar Dhawan, both of who struck fifties ...

Famous quotes containing the word indians:

    John Eliot came to preach to the Podunks in 1657, translated the Bible into their language, but made little progress in aboriginal soul-saving. The Indians answered his pleas with: ‘No, you have taken away our lands, and now you wish to make us a race of slaves.’
    —Administration for the State of Con, U.S. public relief program. Connecticut: A Guide to Its Roads, Lore, and People (The WPA Guide to Connecticut)