Monarchs of Laos

Monarchs Of Laos

Lan Xang was the name of the Laos Kingdom during its early years. The kingdom was ruled by the first king, Fa Ngum until the reign of King Sai Setthathirat. The Lan Xang kingdom's royal seat was based in Luang Phrabang, after which the royal seat moved to Vientiane. With the rule of Sourigna Vongsa for more than 57 years, Laos entered its golden age. In 1707, Lan Xang split into the separate kingdoms of Vientiane, Luang Phrabang and Champasak.

Read more about Monarchs Of LaosKingdom of Champasak (1700-1946), Kingdom of Vientiane (1707-1828), Kingdom of Luang Phrabang (1707-1946), Kingdom of Laos (1946-1975)

Famous quotes containing the word monarchs:

    O for a Muse of fire, that would ascend
    The brightest heaven of invention!
    A kingdom for a stage, princes to act,
    And monarchs to behold the swelling scene!
    William Shakespeare (1564–1616)