Missa Sopra Ecco Sì Beato Giorno

The Missa sopra Ecco sì beato giorno is a musical setting of the Ordinary of the Mass, for 40 and 60 voices, by Florentine Renaissance composer Alessandro Striggio. It probably dates from 1565–6, during the reign of his employer Cosimo I de' Medici. Lost for more than 400 years, it was recently rediscovered in Paris. Most of the mass is for five separate choirs of 8 voices each, with the closing Agnus Dei being for five separate choirs of 12 voices each; all of the voice parts are fully independent. With its huge polychoral forces, climaxing on sixty fully independent parts, it is the largest known polyphonic composition from the entire era.

Read more about Missa Sopra Ecco Sì Beato Giorno:  Background, Music, Influence, Recordings, References and Further Reading

Famous quotes containing the word missa:

    Go, you are dismissed.
    [Ite missa est.]
    Missal, The. The Ordinary of the Mass.

    Missal is book of prayers and rites used to celebrate the Roman Catholic mass during the year.