Miami Hurricanes Baseball

The Miami Hurricanes baseball team is the college baseball program that represents the University of Miami.

Since 1973, the program has been one of college baseball's elite with 23 College World Series appearances, winning four national championships (1982, 1985, 1999, 2001) and advancing to the NCAA regionals a record 40 consecutive years.

Along with the university's other athletic teams, the baseball team became a member of the Atlantic Coast Conference during the 2004–05 academic year. Previously, the baseball program competed as an NCAA independent, even during the school's Big East affiliation in other sports. Miami won its first ever conference championship in baseball when it captured the 2008 ACC Baseball Championship.

The Hurricanes play in Mark Light Field at Alex Rodriguez Park, on the UM campus, in Coral Gables, Florida. Since 1994, the team has been under the leadership of head coach Jim Morris.

Read more about Miami Hurricanes BaseballHead Coaches, National Championships, Notable Alumni

Famous quotes containing the word baseball:

    It is a mass language only in the same sense that its baseball slang is born of baseball players. That is, it is a language which is being molded by writers to do delicate things and yet be within the grasp of superficially educated people. It is not a natural growth, much as its proletarian writers would like to think so. But compared with it at its best, English has reached the Alexandrian stage of formalism and decay.
    Raymond Chandler (1888–1959)