Messenger of Mathematics

The Messenger of Mathematics is a defunct mathematics journal.

The editor-in-chief was William Allen Whitworth with Charles Taylor and volumes 1–58 were published between 1872 and 1929. James Whitbread Lee Glaisher was the editor-in-chief after Whitworth.

In the nineteenth century, foreign contributions represented 4.7% of all pages of mathematics in the journal.

Read more about Messenger Of MathematicsHistory

Other articles related to "messenger of mathematics, mathematics, of mathematics":

Messenger Of Mathematics - History
... The journal was originally titled Oxford, Cambridge and Dublin Messenger of Mathematics ... It was supported by mathematics students, and conducted by a board of editors composed of members of the three universities ... It merged with The Quarterly Journal of Pure and Applied Mathematics to form the Quarterly Journal of Mathematics ...

Famous quotes containing the words messenger of, mathematics and/or messenger:

    Then shall thy meteor glances glow,
    And cowering foes shall shrink beneath
    Each gallant arm that strikes below
    That lovely messenger of death.
    Joseph Rodman Drake (1795–1820)

    In mathematics he was greater
    Than Tycho Brahe, or Erra Pater:
    For he, by geometric scale,
    Could take the size of pots of ale;
    Resolve, by sines and tangents straight,
    If bread and butter wanted weight;
    And wisely tell what hour o’ th’ day
    The clock doth strike, by algebra.
    Samuel Butler (1612–1680)

    O you singers solitary, singing by yourself, projecting me,
    O solitary me listening, never more shall I cease perpetuating you
    Never more shall I escape, never more the reverberations,
    Never more the cries of unsatisfied love be absent from me,
    Never again leave me to be the peaceful child I was before what
    there in the night,
    By the sea under the yellow and sagging moon,
    The messenger there aroused, the fire, the sweet hell within,
    The unknown want, the destiny of me.
    Walt Whitman (1819–1892)