Loreto, Baja California Sur - Politics


Municipality of Loreto Votes
by Party in Presidential Elections (organized by IFE)
2006 45.88% 2,315 14.47% 730 35.41% 1,787
2000 43.80% 2,149 41.99% 2,060 11.84% 581
1994 37.07% 1,671 57.72% 2,602 1.91% 86
Municipality of Loreto
Votes by Party in Mayoral Elections
2008 20.7% 1,362 54.23% 3,569 23.58% 1,552
2005 36.3% 2,121 27.4% 1,597 28.8% 1,680
2002 38.83% 2,125 23.00% 1,259 34.65% 1,896
1999 40.3% 2,122 44.8% 2,364 11.0% 579
1996 43.7% 2,003 51.3% 2,351
1993 50.1% 1,735 49.9% 1,728

The Municipality was created in 1992 and Loreto citizens elected their first Mayor (Municipal President) in 1993. The Federal Electoral Institute, as of February 3, 2008, recorded 9,073 registered voters for the Municipality of Loreto. In Loreto, the main political parties are:

  • The National Action Party (PAN), a conservative party which was formed locally in the early 1990s by small merchants and Cursillos de Cristiandad members (a Catholic movement), as a political opposition to the then undefeatable PRI.
  • The Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI), which ruled the country from 1929 to 2000, and was mainly formed by public employees and labor union members.
  • The Party of the Democratic Revolution (PRD), a left-wing party which gained a presence within the State in 1998 when many local PRI members changed their political affiliation.
  • The New Alliance Party (PANAL), the political wing of the National Education Workers' Union (SNTE), a corporatist union led by Elba Esther Gordillo. The party began activities in the municipaly in 2007, when PAN members, including several members of the Davis Family changed their political affiliation. The SNTE provided funds and political activists.

Loreto politics has demonstrated two characteristics: high voter participation and differentiated voting.

Municipality of Loreto
Participation in Mayor Elections and 2006 Presidential Election
Year Participation
2008 72.5%
2006 62.42%
2005 74.4%
2002 75.36%
1999 80.05%
1996 83.5%
1993 48.2%

Baja California Sur State has high voter participation than the rest of the country, and within the State, Loreto is the Municipality with the highest turnout. Local elections have generally had higher participation than General Elections (Elecciones Federales) for President, Senators and Deputies. Local election participation was as low as 48.2% in 1993 and as high as 83% in 1996 while participation in the last General Election was 62.42%.

Differentiated voting means that the citizens’ vote for the candidates rather than the political party, and thus often chose candidates of diverse political affiliation at the same election. Examples of differentiated voting are the 2005 State and local election, and the 2006 General Election. In the 2005 State and local elections, three different political parties won on the same election day, one for each of three offices: the winning candidates in Lareto were the PRI candidate Rodimiro Amaya for State Governor (but he lost the rest of the State), the PAN candidate Rodolfo Davis for Mayor, and the PRD candidate Antonio Olachea for State Representative (the current XII District State Representative). In 2006, Loreto voters elected Felipe Calderón, the winning PAN candidate, for President, and PRD candidates Francisco Obregón Senators and Juan Adolfo Orci Martínez Deputies. This differentiated voting pattern began in 1993, the year that the PRI was first defeated in a local election: PRI won the Governor election, but lost the Municipalities of La Paz, Comondú and Loreto, as well as the State Congress. Each election has had winners of dissimilar political affiliation. From 1999 to 2005, even though the PRD won almost all the local elections across the State, the Loreto Municipality was carried by either the PRI or the PAN, while the PRD won the Governor’s election and State Representative Election. In 2008, however, the PRD won both Mayor and State Representative offices.

Read more about this topic:  Loreto, Baja California Sur

Other articles related to "politics":

List Of Political Scientists - Notable Political Scientists - L
... Guy Laforest - Liberalism (John Locke) scholar and Quebec and Canadian politics specialist Harold Lasswell - Political communications, pioneered early efforts to establish ... Richard Ned Lebow - Noted constructivist, Cold War expert, author of Tragic Vision of Politics ... Count Theodore Lowi - Major scholar of American politics at Cornell University Ian Lustick - State territoriality ethnic conflict and computer modelling in political science University ...
Politics - Political Corruption
... Forms of corruption vary, but include bribery, extortion, cronyism, nepotism, patronage, graft, and embezzlement ... While corruption may facilitate criminal enterprise such as drug trafficking, money laundering, and trafficking, it is not restricted to these activities ...
Ed Sullivan - Politics
... After the Draper incident, Sullivan began to work closely with Theodore Kirkpatrick of the anti-communist Counterattack newsletter ... Sullivan would check with Kirkpatrick if a potential guest had some "explaining to do" about his politics ...
List Of Political Scientists - Notable Political Scientists - C
... the social science subdiscipline of genetics and politics ... social scientist John Coakley - specialist in ethnic conflict and Irish politics Benjamin Cohen - leader in the field of International Political Economy Stephen P ... Cook - politics and media Satyabrata Rai Chowdhuri - International Relations, Indology at Institute of Commonwealth Studies Philip Converse - Public ...

Famous quotes containing the word politics:

    The Germans—once they were called the nation of thinkers: do they still think at all? Nowadays the Germans are bored with intellect, the Germans distrust intellect, politics devours all seriousness for really intellectual things—Deutschland, Deutschland Über alles was, I fear, the end of German philosophy.
    Friedrich Nietzsche (1844–1900)

    The word “revolution” itself has become not only a dead relic of Leftism, but a key to the deadendedness of male politics: the “revolution” of a wheel which returns in the end to the same place; the “revolving door” of a politics which has “liberated” women only to use them, and only within the limits of male tolerance.
    Adrienne Rich (b. 1929)

    Of course politics is an interesting and engrossing thing. It offers no immutable laws, nearly always prevaricates, but as far as blather and sharpening the mind go, it provides inexhaustible material.
    Anton Pavlovich Chekhov (1860–1904)