List of World Rally Championship Seasons

The list of World Rally Championship seasons includes all seasons of the FIA World Rally Championship, from the inaugural 1973 season to now.

Season Events Drivers' championship Manufacturers' championship
1st 2nd 3rd 1st 2nd 3rd
1973 13 No drivers' championship Alpine-Renault Fiat Ford
1974 8 No drivers' championship Lancia Fiat Ford
1975 10 No drivers' championship Lancia Fiat Alpine-Renault
1976 10 No drivers' championship Lancia Opel Ford
1977 11 Sandro Munari Björn Waldegård Bernard Darniche Fiat Ford Toyota
1978 11 Markku Alén Jean-Pierre Nicolas Hannu Mikkola Fiat Ford Opel
1979 12 Björn Waldegård Hannu Mikkola Markku Alén Ford Datsun Fiat
1980 12 Walter Röhrl Hannu Mikkola Björn Waldegård Fiat Datsun Ford
1981 12 Ari Vatanen Guy Fréquelin Hannu Mikkola Talbot Datsun Ford
1982 12 Walter Röhrl Michèle Mouton Hannu Mikkola Audi Opel Nissan
1983 12 Hannu Mikkola Walter Röhrl Markku Alén Lancia Audi Opel
1984 12 Stig Blomqvist Hannu Mikkola Markku Alén Audi Lancia Peugeot
1985 12 Timo Salonen Stig Blomqvist Walter Röhrl Peugeot Audi Lancia
1986 13 Juha Kankkunen Markku Alén Timo Salonen Peugeot Lancia Volkswagen
1987 13 Juha Kankkunen Miki Biasion Markku Alén Lancia Audi Renault
1988 13 Miki Biasion Markku Alén Alex Fiorio Lancia Ford Audi
1989 13 Miki Biasion Alex Fiorio Juha Kankkunen Lancia Toyota Mazda
1990 12 Carlos Sainz Didier Auriol Juha Kankkunen Lancia Toyota Mitsubishi
1991 14 Juha Kankkunen Carlos Sainz Didier Auriol Lancia Toyota Mitsubishi
1992 14 Carlos Sainz Juha Kankkunen Didier Auriol Lancia Toyota Ford
1993 13 Juha Kankkunen François Delecour Didier Auriol Toyota Ford Subaru
1994 10 Didier Auriol Carlos Sainz Juha Kankkunen Toyota Subaru Ford
1995 8 Colin McRae Carlos Sainz Kenneth Eriksson Subaru Mitsubishi Ford
1996 9 Tommi Mäkinen Colin McRae Carlos Sainz Subaru Mitsubishi Ford
1997 14 Tommi Mäkinen Colin McRae Carlos Sainz Subaru Ford Mitsubishi
1998 13 Tommi Mäkinen Carlos Sainz Colin McRae Mitsubishi Toyota Subaru
1999 14 Tommi Mäkinen Richard Burns Didier Auriol Toyota Subaru Mitsubishi
2000 14 Marcus Grönholm Richard Burns Carlos Sainz Peugeot Ford Subaru
2001 14 Richard Burns Colin McRae Tommi Mäkinen Peugeot Ford Mitsubishi
2002 14 Marcus Grönholm Petter Solberg Carlos Sainz Peugeot Ford Subaru
2003 14 Petter Solberg Sébastien Loeb Carlos Sainz Citroën Peugeot Subaru
2004 16 Sébastien Loeb Petter Solberg Markko Märtin Citroën Ford Subaru
2005 16 Sébastien Loeb Petter Solberg Marcus Grönholm Citroën Peugeot Ford
2006 16 Sébastien Loeb Marcus Grönholm Mikko Hirvonen Ford Kronos Citroën Subaru
2007 16 Sébastien Loeb Marcus Grönholm Mikko Hirvonen Ford Citroën Subaru
2008 15 Sébastien Loeb Mikko Hirvonen Dani Sordo Citroën Ford Subaru
2009 12 Sébastien Loeb Mikko Hirvonen Dani Sordo Citroën Ford Stobart Ford
2010 13 Sébastien Loeb Jari-Matti Latvala Petter Solberg Citroën Ford Citroën Junior
2011 13 Sébastien Loeb Mikko Hirvonen Sébastien Ogier Citroën Ford Stobart Ford
2012 13 Sébastien Loeb Mikko Hirvonen Jari-Matti Latvala Citroën Ford M-Sport Ford

Famous quotes containing the words list of, seasons, list, world and/or rally:

    Every morning I woke in dread, waiting for the day nurse to go on her rounds and announce from the list of names in her hand whether or not I was for shock treatment, the new and fashionable means of quieting people and of making them realize that orders are to be obeyed and floors are to be polished without anyone protesting and faces are to be made to be fixed into smiles and weeping is a crime.
    Janet Frame (b. 1924)

    Bind us in time, O seasons clear, and awe.
    O minstrel galleons of Carib fire,
    Bequeath us to no earthly shore until
    Is answered in the vortex of our grave
    The seal’s wide spindrift gaze toward paradise.
    Hart Crane (1899–1932)

    A man’s interest in a single bluebird is worth more than a complete but dry list of the fauna and flora of a town.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)

    Here, where the world is quiet,
    Here, where all trouble seems
    Dead winds’ and spent waves’ riot
    In doubtful dreams of dreams;
    —A.C. (Algernon Charles)

    I ... once witnessed more ardent emotions between men at an Elks’ Rally in Pasadena than they could ever have felt for the type of woman available to an Elk.
    Anita Loos (1888–1981)