List of United Kingdom Parliament Constituencies 2005–2010

List Of United Kingdom Parliament Constituencies 2005–2010

This is a list of the 646 previous constituencies of the United Kingdom parliament.

There are 650 in the 2010 election constituencies currently represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom, as at the 2005 general election. Each constituency is represented by a single Member of Parliament (MP).

Constituency boundaries are subject to regular review by the four independent Boundary Commissions, usually once every 10 to 15 years, to keep the electorate of each constituency as close to the national average as is reasonably possible. New constituencies may be created, or existing ones abolished, by these reviews. For the list of recommended constituencies following the current review see Constituencies in the next United Kingdom general election.

Constituencies were long based on boroughs (burghs in Scotland) and counties. Today, constituencies in England are mostly subdivisions of local authorities, with each constituency comprising a number of whole wards. In Scotland, constituencies are subdivisions of council areas, and in Wales they are subdivisions of the preserved counties. Northern Ireland is reviewed as a whole, and constituency boundaries may cross all district borders.

In some cases, particularly in urban areas, two or more local government areas may be combined together to form a single review area, so that particularly large or small constituencies are not created. For example, if two adjacent areas are entitled to 1.5 constituencies each, they may be combined together and awarded three constituencies, rather than having two constituencies each, all of which would be well below the average constituency electorate.

The average constituency size is approximately 74,000 registered voters, but they vary in size from the smallest (Na h-Eileanan an Iar at 22,200 voters) to the largest (the Isle of Wight at approximately 110,000 voters). A constituency has no physical size restrictions.

The Parliament of 2001 contained representatives from 659 constituencies. Most of the current constituency boundaries were last reviewed in the early 1990s, and are therefore based on administrative boundaries prior to the last series of local government boundary changes. However, a Boundary Commission for Scotland review in February 2005 resulted in the reorganisation of most Scottish constituencies to adjust for the historic over-representation of Scotland. This reduced the number of constituencies in Scotland by 13, from 72 down to the current 59. The Parliament of 2005 therefore had 646 representatives. In the 2010 Election on 6 May 2010 the number of seats contested has increased from 646 to 650 as a result of boundary changes. Technically an absolute majority would require one party to win 326 seats, or else there would be a hung parliament.

1 England
1.1 East Midlands Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire
1.2 East of England Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk, Suffolk
1.3 Greater London North East, North West, South East, South West
1.4 North East England Cleveland, Durham, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear
1.5 North West England Cheshire, Cumbria, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, Merseyside
1.6 South East England Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, East Sussex, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Kent, Oxfordshire, Surrey, West Sussex
1.7 South West England Avon, Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Somerset, Wiltshire
1.8 West Midlands Hereford and Worcester, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, West Midlands
1.9 Yorkshire and the Humber Humberside, North Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, West Yorkshire
2 Northern Ireland
3 Scotland
4 Wales

Read more about List Of United Kingdom Parliament Constituencies 2005–2010:  Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales

Famous quotes containing the words list of, parliament, kingdom, list and/or united:

    My list of things I never pictured myself saying when I pictured myself as a parent has grown over the years.
    Polly Berrien Berends (20th century)

    Undershaft: Alcohol is a very necessary article. It heals the sick—Barbara: It does nothing of the sort. Undershaft: Well, it assists the doctor: that is perhaps a less questionable way of putting it. It makes life bearable to millions of people who could not endure their existence if they were quite sober. It enables Parliament to do things at eleven at night that no sane person would do at eleven in the morning.
    George Bernard Shaw (1856–1950)

    She was a child and I was a child,
    In this kingdom by the sea,
    But we loved with a love that was more than love—
    I and my Annabel Lee—
    With a love that the winged seraphs of Heaven
    Coveted her and me.
    Edgar Allan Poe (1809–1849)

    Feminism is an entire world view or gestalt, not just a laundry list of women’s issues.
    Charlotte Bunch (b. 1944)

    The United States have a coffle of four millions of slaves. They are determined to keep them in this condition; and Massachusetts is one of the confederated overseers to prevent their escape.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)