List of Regions of Nunavut

The regions of Nunavut serve as census divisions, although Statistics Canada has tended to use the names "Baffin Region" for Qikiqtaaluk Region and "Keewatin Region" for Kivalliq Region. Though the regions have no autonomous governments, Nunavut's territorial government services are highly decentralized on a regional basis. The Qikiqtaaluk or Baffin Region is the largest region in Canada, while the Kitikmeot Region is the second least densely populated.

It is a misconception that Nunavut is made up of some of the former regions of the Northwest Territories, separated in their entirety. This is not the case; the dividing line did not follow region boundaries, although boundaries have been subsequently finessed so that three former NWT regions collectively constitute Nunavut.

The regional divisions are distinct from the district system of dividing the Northwest Territories that dated to 1876 and was abolished when Nunavut was created. Nunavut encompasses the entirety of the District of Keewatin (which had differing boundaries from the Keewatin/Kivalliq regions), the majority of the District of Franklin and a small portion of the District of Mackenzie.

Region and Postal Code Kitikmeot Region X0B Kivalliq Region X0C Qikiqtaaluk Region X0A
(replaced "Kitikmeot Region, NWT") (replaced "Keewatin Region, NWT") (replaced "Baffin Region, NWT")
Census division name Kitikmeot Region Keewatin Region Baffin Region
Regional seat Cambridge Bay Rankin Inlet Iqaluit
Area (km²) 446,727.7 445,109.37 1,040,417.9
Population, 2006 (2001) 5,361 (4,816) 8,348 (7,557) 15,765 (14,372)
Population change
+11.3% +10.5% +9.7%
Density 0.012/km² 0.019/km² 0.015/km²

Other articles related to "regions, region":

Pays De La Loire
... Pays de la Loire ( Breton Broioù al Liger) is one of the 27 regions of France ... It is one of the regions created in the late 20th century to serve as a zone of influence for its capital, Nantes, one of a handful so-called "balancing ... Other examples of "artificially created" regions include Rhône-Alpes, which was created as the region for Lyon, and Midi-Pyrénées, which was created as the region for Toulouse ...
Confederation Of German Trade Unions - Structure - Districts With Regions
... Baden-Wüttemberg 4 regions Bayern 14 regions Berlin/Brandenburg 4 regions Hessen/Thüringen 6 regions Niedersachsen/Bremen/Sachsen-Anhalt 10 regions Nord (Niedersachsen/Bremen/Sachsen-Anhalt) 7 regions ...
... Kivu was the name for a large "Region" in the Democratic Republic of Congo under the rule of Mobutu Sese Seko that bordered Lake Kivu ... It included three "Sub-Regions" ("Sous-Regions" in French) Nord-Kivu, Sud-Kivu and Maniema, corresponding to the three current provinces created in 1986 ... The capital of the Kivu Region was in Bukavu, and the capitals of the three Sub-Regions were in Goma, Uvira and Kindu ...
Joe 90 - Broadcasting
... The series reached the Harlech and Channel regions in November 1968 and finally Granada on Christmas Day, although the first episode to air was the ... Granada was one of several regions which broadcast Joe 90 under the altered title, The Adventures of Joe 90 ... Although the series was re-run several times in various regions during the 1970s, it was not transmitted in the Yorkshire region until 1981, when it was secured by ITV for a syndicated run ...

Famous quotes containing the words list of, list and/or regions:

    The advice of their elders to young men is very apt to be as unreal as a list of the hundred best books.
    Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. (1841–1935)

    Thirty—the promise of a decade of loneliness, a thinning list of single men to know, a thinning brief-case of enthusiasm, thinning hair.
    F. Scott Fitzgerald (1896–1940)

    What is a television apparatus to man, who has only to shut his eyes to see the most inaccessible regions of the seen and the never seen, who has only to imagine in order to pierce through walls and cause all the planetary Baghdads of his dreams to rise from the dust.
    Salvador Dali (1904–1989)