List of People From Tamil Nadu - Award Winners - Ramon Magsaysay Award

Ramon Magsaysay Award

The Ramon Magsaysay Award was established in April 1957 in memory of Ramon Magsaysay, the late president of the Philippines. It is often considered Asia's equivalent of the Nobel Prize.

  • M. S. Swaminathan, for Community Leadership - 1971
  • M. S. Subbulakshmi, for Public Service - 1974
  • R. K. Laxman, for Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts - 1984
  • Aruna Roy, for Community Leadership - 2000
  • V Shanta, for Public Service - 2005
  • Kulandei Francis, for Public Service - 2012

Read more about this topic:  List Of People From Tamil Nadu, Award Winners

Other articles related to "magsaysay, ramon magsaysay award, ramon magsaysay":

Leonila Garcia
... role shortly after the death of Ramón Magsaysay that led to the succession of her husband, who was the Vice-President ... First Policy." Honorary titles Preceded by Luz Magsaysay First Lady of the Philippines 1957–1961 Succeeded by Eva Macapagal Preceded by Mariquit Lopez Second Lady of the ...
Magsaysay, Misamis Oriental - Barangays
... Magsaysay is politically subdivided into 25 barangays ... Abunda Artadi Bonifacio Aquiño Cabalawan Cabantian Cabubuhan Candiis Consuelo Damayuhan Gumabon Kauswagan Kibungsod Mahayahay Mindulao Pag-asa Poblacion San Isidro San Vicente Santa Cruz Tibon-tibon Tulang (Cadena de Amor) Villa Felipa Katipunan Tama Tinaan ...
Asian Institute Of Technology - Ramon Magsaysay Award
... In 1989, AIT received a Ramon Magsaysay Award for Peace and International Understanding ".. ... alumnus of AIT, Yu Xiaogang was also awarded the Ramon Magsaysay Award ...
JB Magsaysay
... Joseph Benedict Aquino Magsaysay, also known as JB Magsaysay (born on July 6, 1980 in San Juan, La Union), is a Filipino actor, a public servant, a ... Magsaysay is the grand nephew of former Philippine president Ramon Magsaysay, and also first cousin of slain Ram Revilla ...

Famous quotes containing the word award:

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)