List of Chaldean Catholic Patriarchs of Babylon - Catholicoi and Patriarchs of Babylon For The Chaldeans - The Alqosh/Mosul Line

The Alqosh/Mosul Line

The patriarchal See of Alqosh, known in the 17th–18th century also as Eliya line, was the oldest and largest patriarchal See of the Church of the East, the only one existing patriarchal line before the 1553 split, and traces itself back from St. Thomas in the 1st-century. In 1610 Mar Eliyya VIII (1591–1617), Patriarch of the See of Alqosh, entered communion with the Catholic Church. Eliyya VIII, however died in 1617, and his successor quickly repudiated the union.

In 1778, with the death of Eliya XII (or XI) Denkha, the See of Alqosh divided between Mar Eliyya XIII Isho-Yab, who was not in communion with Rome, and his cousin Mar Yohannan VIII Eliyya Hormizd, who professed to be Catholic. In 1804, with the death of Eliyya Isho-Yab, Yohannan Hormizd remained the only incumbent of this ancient See. He was recognized patriarch by Rome only in 1830, after the merging of the Chaldean see of Amid, thus forming the modern Chaldean Catholic Church.

  • 103 Yohannan VIII Hormizd (1830–1838) — moved the See in Mosul
  • 104 Nicholas I Zaya (1839–1846)
  • 105 Joseph VI Audo (1847–1878)
  • 106 Eliya Abulyonan (1878–1894)
  • 107 Audishu V Khayyath (1894–1899) (Georges Ebed-Iesu)
  • 108 Yousef VI Emmanuel II Thomas (1900–1946)
  • 109 Yousef VII Ghanima (1946–1958) — moved the See in Baghdad
  • 110 Paul II Cheikho (1958–1989)
  • 111 Raphael I Bidawid (1989–2003)
    • Shlemon Warduni (2003) (Locum Tenens)
  • 112 Emmanuel III Delly (2003–present)

Read more about this topic:  List Of Chaldean Catholic Patriarchs Of Babylon, Catholicoi and Patriarchs of Babylon For The Chaldeans

Famous quotes containing the word line:

    Every age has its temptations, its weaknesses, its dangers. Ours is in the line of the snobbish and the sordid.
    Rutherford Birchard Hayes (1822–1893)