List of Belarusian Provinces

List Of Belarusian Provinces

At the top level of administration, the Eastern European country of Belarus is divided into six voblasts (meaning "provinces" or "regions") and the city of Minsk, which has a special status being the capital of Belarus. Minsk is also the capital of Minsk Region.

At the second level, the voblasts are divided into raions ("districts").

The layout and extent of the voblasts were set in 1960 when Belarus (then Byelorussian SSR) was a part of the Soviet Union.

Read more about List Of Belarusian Provinces:  History, Map

Other articles related to "list of belarusian provinces, belarusian":

List Of Belarusian Provinces - Map
... Regions of Belarus Subdivision Capital Belarusian Population (2009 estimate) Area (km2) Density Percentage of Belarus All Belarus Minsk Беларусь 9,671,900 207,756 46 ...

Famous quotes containing the words list of and/or list:

    Modern tourist guides have helped raised tourist expectations. And they have provided the natives—from Kaiser Wilhelm down to the villagers of Chichacestenango—with a detailed and itemized list of what is expected of them and when. These are the up-to- date scripts for actors on the tourists’ stage.
    Daniel J. Boorstin (b. 1914)

    Do your children view themselves as successes or failures? Are they being encouraged to be inquisitive or passive? Are they afraid to challenge authority and to question assumptions? Do they feel comfortable adapting to change? Are they easily discouraged if they cannot arrive at a solution to a problem? The answers to those questions will give you a better appraisal of their education than any list of courses, grades, or test scores.
    Lawrence Kutner (20th century)