List of All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Finals

List Of All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Finals

The Final of the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship is the ultimate match in the annual hurling competition organised since 1887 by the Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA). Contested by the top hurling teams in Ireland, the tournament has taken place every year, except in 1888, when the competition was not played due to a tour of the United States by would-be competitors. The All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Final was listed in second place by CNN in its "10 sporting events you have to see live", after the Olympic Games and ahead of both the FIFA World Cup and UEFA European Football Championship. The next All-Ireland Hurling Final is scheduled to be held at Croke Park, Dublin, in September 2013.

The final, usually held on the first Sunday of September, serves as the culmination of a series of games played during the summer months, and the results determine which county's team receives the Liam McCarthy Cup. Where five Sundays occur in September (as in 2012 and 2013), the final is held on the second Sunday in September. The Championship was initially a straight knockout competition open only to the champions of each of the four provinces of Ireland. During the 1990s the competition was expanded, firstly incorporating a "back-door system" and later a round-robin group phase involving more games. The Championship currently consists of several stages. In the present format, it begins in late May with provincial championships held in Leinster and Munster. Once a team is defeated in the provincial stage they are granted one more chance to compete for the title. The Munster and Leinster champions gain automatic admission to the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship semi-finals, where they are joined by the two winners of the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship qualifiers via two lone quarter-finals.

Thirteen teams currently participate in the Championship, the most dominant teams coming from the provinces of Leinster and Munster. Kilkenny, Cork and Tipperary are considered "the big three" of hurling. Between them, these teams have won 89 out of 124 (approx 72%) championships completed during its history, including every title since Offaly's 1998 victory. The title has been won by 13 different teams, 10 of which have won the title more than once. The all-time record-holders are Kilkenny, who have won the competition 33 times. The current champions, Kilkenny, took their title in 2011.

Read more about List Of All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Finals:  List of Finals, Footnotes

Other articles related to "final":

List Of All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Finals - Footnotes
... Kilkenny were awarded the All-Ireland title ... ^ A refixture of the All-Ireland Final was needed following an objection and a counter-objection ... ^ The 1899 final was left unfinished with Tipperary being awarded the title ...

Famous quotes containing the words list of, list and/or senior:

    My list of things I never pictured myself saying when I pictured myself as a parent has grown over the years.
    Polly Berrien Berends (20th century)

    Love’s boat has been shattered against the life of everyday. You and I are quits, and it’s useless to draw up a list of mutual hurts, sorrows, and pains.
    Vladimir Mayakovsky (1893–1930)

    I suffer whenever I see that common sight of a parent or senior imposing his opinion and way of thinking and being on a young soul to which they are totally unfit. Cannot we let people be themselves, and enjoy life in their own way? You are trying to make that man another you. One’s enough.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)