Lienz District

Lienz District

Bezirk Lienz
Country Austria
State Tyrol
Number of municipalities 33
• Total 2,019.87 km2 (779.88 sq mi)
Population (2001)
• Total 50,404
• Density 25/km2 (65/sq mi)
Time zone CET (UTC+1)
• Summer (DST) CEST (UTC+2)
NUTS code

The Bezirk Lienz is an administrative district (Bezirk) in Tyrol, Austria. It is the only district in East Tyrol. The district borders the Pinzgau (Salzburg) in the north, the districts Spittal an der Drau and Hermagor (both Carinthia) in the east, Veneto (Italy) in the south, and South Tyrol (Italy) in the west.

Area of the district is 2,019.87 km², with a population of 50,404 (May 15, 2001), and population density of 25 persons per km². Administrative center of the district is Lienz.

In 1919, Trentino and South Tyrol were split from what is now the Austrian state of Tyrol in the Treaty of Saint-Germain (these three entities made up the old Austro-Hungarian county of Tyrol). Since this time, East Tyrol is parted from North Tyrol by about 5 km of border between the federal state Salzburg and South Tyrol. Accordingly, it forms an inner-Austrian exclave of the federal state Tyrol. It was also the only part of modern Tyrol not occupied by France after World War II, instead forming part of the British zone.

Read more about Lienz District:  Geography, Administrative Divisions

Other articles related to "lienz district, district":

Lienz District - Administrative Divisions
... The district is divided into 33 municipalities Abfaltersbach Ainet Amlach Anras Assling Außervillgraten Dölsach Gaimberg Heinfels Hopfgarten in Defereggen Innervillgraten ...

Famous quotes containing the word district:

    Most works of art, like most wines, ought to be consumed in the district of their fabrication.
    Rebecca West (1892–1983)