Lebanese Pound

The Lebanese pound (sign: £ or L£; Arabic: lira; French: livre; ISO 4217: LBP) is the currency unit of Lebanon. It is divided into 100 piastres but inflation has eliminated the subdivisions.

The plural form of lira, as used on the currency, is either lirat (ليرات) or the same, whilst there are four forms for qirsh: the dual qirshan (قرشان), the plural qirush (قروش) used with numbers 3-10, the accusative singular qirsha (قرشا) used with 11-99, or the genitive singular qirshi (قرش) used with multiples of 100. In both cases, the number determines which plural form is used. Note that before the Second World War, the Arabic spelling of the subdivision was غرش (girsh). All of Lebanon's coins and banknotes are bilingual in Arabic and French.

Read more about Lebanese Pound:  History, Coins, Banknotes

Other articles related to "lebanese pound, pounds, pound, lebanese pounds":

Lebanese Pound - Banknotes
... Denominations ran from 25 girsha through to 100 pounds ... The first 250 pound notes appeared that year ... but the notes were denominated specifically in "Lebanese pounds" (ليرة لبنانية, livre libanaise) to distinguish them from Syrian notes ...

Famous quotes containing the word pound:

    The jargon of these sculptors is beyond me. I do not know precisely why I admire a green granite female, apparently pregnant monster with one eye going around a square corner.
    —Ezra Pound (1885–1972)