Learco Guerra

Learco Guerra (October 14, 1902 - February 7, 1963) was an Italian professional road racing cyclist. The highlight of his career was his overall win in the 1934 Giro d'Italia.

Laearco Guerra, born in a frazione of Bagnolo San Vito in Lombardy, gained the nickname of "Human Locomotive" for his enduring quality in plain stages. After mediocre attempts to play football, Guerra became a professional cyclist in 1928, at 26. The following year he became Italian champion, racing as an independent or semi-professional.

In 1930 he won his first Italian National Road Race Championships, the first of five straight wins. That same year he came second in the Tour de France after Italy's leader, Alfredo Binda, proved in poor form. The race was won by the Frenchman, André Leducq. In 1931 Guerra won four stages of the Giro d'Italia but not the final victory. The same year he won the world cycling championship.

In 1933 Guerra was again second in the Tour de France, and he won the Milan – San Remo. In 1934 came his greatest success, 10 stages of the Giro d'Italia and the general classification. He was also second in the world championship.

Guerra set a record of victories in a single year that was beaten only in the 1970s. His fame was exploited by the Fascist government, which profited from his heroic status.

After retirement, he worked as a team manager for riders such as Hugo Koblet and Charly Gaul.

Affected by Parkinson's disease, he died in Milan in 1963.

Read more about Learco GuerraPalmarès

Other articles related to "learco guerra, guerra":

1933 Giro D'Italia - Stages
... km Stage Winner Leader of the GC 1 Milan-Turin 169 Learco Guerra Learco Guerra 2 Turin-Genoa 216 Alfredo Binda Alfredo Binda 3 Genoa-Pisa 191 Learco Guerra Alfredo Binda 4 Pisa-Florence 184 Giuseppe Olmo ...
1934 Giro D'Italia - Stages
169 Francesco Camusso Francesco Camusso 2 Turin-Genoa 206 Learco Guerra Francesco Camusso 3 Genoa-Livorno 220 Learco Guerra Francesco Camusso 4 Livorno-Pisa (cron ... individuale) 45 Learco Guerra Learco Guerra 5 Pisa-Rome 333 Learco Guerra Learco Guerra 6 Rome-Naples 228 Learco Guerra Learco Guerra 7 Naples-Bari 339 Adriano Vignoli Learco Guerra 8 Bari-Campobasso 245 F ...
Italian National Road Race Championships - Men - Elite
... Costante Girardengo 1929 Alfredo Binda Antonio Negrini Domenico Piemontesi 1930 Learco Guerra Alfredo Binda Allegro Grandi 1931 Learco Guerra Fabio Battesini Luigi ...