Lansing Lugnuts

The Lansing Lugnuts are a Class A minor league baseball team, affiliated with the Toronto Blue Jays, that plays in the Midwest League.

The Midwest League came to Lansing, Michigan in 1996. The franchise began in Lafayette, Indiana, in 1955; after two seasons it moved to Waterloo, Iowa, where it stayed for 36 seasons. Before the 1994 season it moved to Springfield, Illinois, but only spent two seasons there before moving to Lansing. The franchise was an affiliate of the Kansas City Royals on two separate occasions in three different cities: as the Waterloo Royals from 1969 through 1976, as the Sultans of Springfield in 1995, and then, upon the team's move to Lansing, from 1996 through 1998. The Lugnuts were then an affiliate of the Chicago Cubs from 1999 through 2004 before joining the Jays' farm system for the 2005 season.

The team plays at Cooley Law School Stadium (previously known as Oldsmobile Park and named after the now-defunct General Motors division that was based there), which opened in 1996. The new name comes from a naming rights deal with Thomas M. Cooley Law School, based in Lansing and the largest law school in the United States. Cooley Law School Stadium seats over 11,000 fans and is one of the largest Class A Minor League baseball parks in the United States. The franchise national attendance record of 538,326 was set during its inaugural year. They won the Midwest League Championship in 1997 and 2003. The Lugnuts have their own "theme" which plays immediately after the national anthem for every home game.

Read more about Lansing LugnutsCrosstown Showdown, Media Coverage, Alumni, Current Roster

Other articles related to "lansing lugnuts":

Midwest League Rosters - Eastern Division - Lansing Lugnuts
... Lansing Lugnuts roster Players Coaches/Other Pitchers 29 Javier Avendano 20 Casey Beck 20 Will Browning 11 Kramer Champlin 19 Taylor Cole 27 Tucker Donahue 44 Chuck Ghysels 8 Alonzo Gonzalez 21 Matt Johnson 36 ...
Lansing Lugnuts - Current Roster
... Lansing Lugnuts roster Players Coaches/Other Pitchers 20 Casey Beck 17 Brandon Berl 40 Tim Brechbuehler 37 Philip Brua 25 Kramer Champlin 16 Anthony DeSclafani 43 Aleson Escalante 19 Shawn Griffith 3 Ian Kadish 14 ...
WQTX - Lansing Lugnuts
... WQTX airs live coverage of the Lansing Lugnuts ... Play-by-play is done by Jesse Goldberg-Strassler ...