Laguna (province)

Laguna (province)

Laguna (PSGC: 035400000; ISO: PH-LAG), (Tagalog: Lalawigan ng Laguna), is a province of the Philippines found in the CALABARZON region in Luzon. Its capital is Santa Cruz and the province is located southeast of Metro Manila, south of the province of Rizal, west of Quezon, north of Batangas and east of Cavite. Laguna hugs the southern shores of Laguna de Bay, the largest lake in the country. The city with the highest population (based on 2010 census) is Calamba, while the least population is the Municipality of Famy.

Laguna is notable as the birthplace of Jose Rizal, the country's national hero. It is also famous for attractions like Pagsanjan Falls, the University of the Philippines Los Baños campus, the hot spring resorts of Los Baños and Calamba on the slopes of Mount Makiling, Pila historic town plaza, Taytay Falls in Majayjay, the wood carvings and papier-mâché created by the people of Paeté, the annual Sampaguita Festival in San Pedro, the turumba of Pakil, the tsinelas footwears from Liliw, the Pandan Festival of Luisiana, the Seven Lakes of San Pablo (the first city in the province), and the Hidden Valley Springs in Calauan.

Read more about Laguna (province):  History, Climate, Arts and Culture, Shopping Malls, Notable People

Other articles related to "laguna":

Laguna (province) - Notable People
... Lazaro, former governor of LagunaDanilo Fernandez, actor, doctor, and politician (LagunaFirst District representative) Jun Chipeco, Jr ...