Kyung Hee University

Kyung Hee University is a comprehensive, private, research university encompassing an educational system from kindergarten to graduate school with campuses in Seoul, Suwon, and Gwangneung, Korea Republic. Kyung Hee has 24 colleges, 71 departments and majors, 65 master's and 63 doctorate programs, 18 professional and special graduate schools, and 43 auxiliary research institutions. The university celebrated its sixtieth anniversary in 2009. In 1993 Kyung Hee received the UNESCO Prize for Peace Education. In 2006, Kyung Hee initiated with the University of Pennsylvania the Penn-Kyung Hee Collaborative Summer Program and two years later a formal Global Collaborative with Peking, Ritsumeikan, and Moscow State universities; the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs; and the Conference of NGOs (CoNGO). Kyung Hee's interdisciplinary bio-medical cluster maintains one of the world's leading research programs for the study of oriental medicine and its application to contemporary medical treatment in tandem with Western approaches, including the world's first successful drug-free acupunctural anesthesia demonstration in 1972. As of 2011 Kyung Hee University maintains sister relationships with 402 universities in 68 countries.

Kyung Hee was founded in 1949 by Dr. Young Seek Choue, whose founding philosophy was "Toward a New Civilization." Established in the spirit of internationalization put forth by the United Nations, Kyung Hee has developed a paradigm that emphasizes peace and society engagement predicated on democratic prosperity, culture and welfare. Since its foundation, the university hosted the 1968 conference of the International Association of University Presidents, first proposed in 1981 the UN International Day of Peace, organized the 1999 Seoul International Conference of NGOs, held the 2009 World Civic Forum, ran the 2011 UNAI-Kyung Hee International Symposium, and has spearheaded the Global Common Society movement.

Read more about Kyung Hee UniversityMedical Center, Ranking

Other articles related to "kyung hee university, kyung, hee, university":

Kyung Hee University - Notable Alumni - Entertainment
... Kim Yeonji (SeeYa) Jeon Ji Yoon (4minute) Kang Min Kyung (Davichi) Lizzy (After School) E-Young (After School) Lee Ok Joo (E.via) ...
List Of Titles Serialized In Issue Magazine - Domestic Titles
... Ji-yeong (김지영) 2001-2002 Akasig Rekodeu Sang (아카식 레코드 상) Choi Kyung-ah (최경아) 1998 The Queen of Anites ...
South Korea Women's National Volleyball Team - Squads
... Lee Soo-Nok, Baik Myung-Sun, Chang Hee-Sook, Ma Kum-Ja, Yun Young-Nae, Yu Kyung-Hwa, Park Mi-Kum, Jo Hea-Jung, and Jung Soo-Nok. 1984 Olympic Games — 5th place Lee Eun-Kyung, Lee Un-Yim, Jin Chun-Mae, Lee Young-Sun, Kim Jeong-Sun, Jea Sook-Ja, Han Kyung-Ae, Lee Myung-Hee, Kim Ok-Soon, Park Mi-Hee, Lim Hye-S. 1988 Olympic Games — 8th place Park Mi-Hee, Kim Kyung-Hee, Kim Kui-Soon, Lim Hye-Sook, Yoo Young-Mi, Nam Soon-Ok, Yoon Chung-Hye, Park Bok-Rye, Kim Yoon-Hye, Sun Mi-Sook, Moon Sun-H ...
Medalists At The Badminton Asia Championships
... Kim Moon-soo MS Rashid Sidek XD Park Joo-bong Chung Myung-hee 1992 WD Wu Yuhong Pan Li WS Ye Zhaoying MD Razif Sidek Jalani Sidek MS Rashid Sidek XD Joko Mardianto ... Fung Permadi Mainaky Marleve XD Kim Dong-moon Ra Kyung-min Liu Yong Ge Fei Trikus Haryanto Zelin Resiana Bambang Suprianto Minarti Timur 2000 WD Lee ... Wong Pei Tty 2008 WD Yang Wei Zhang Jiewen Cheng Wen-Hsing Chien Yu Chin Lee Hyo-jung Lee Kyung-won Vita Marissa Lilyana Natsir WS Jiang Yanjiao Wang Lin Yip Pui Yin Wang Chen MD Jung Jae-sung Lee Yong-dae ...
Seoul National University - Notable Alumni - Academia
... '67), former president of Hankuk University of Foreign Studies Edward J ... '50 law), founder and chancellor of Kyung Hee University System recipient of 34 honorary doctorate degrees Lan Chung (B.S ... impact score) Byoung-chul Kim, eighteenth president of Korea University Byoung-kook Kim, laid Korean foundation in hematology discoverer of HTLV-1 virus (Human T-lympho ...

Famous quotes containing the word university:

    A University should be a place of light, of liberty, and of learning.
    Benjamin Disraeli (1804–1881)