Kingdom of Norway (1814-1905)

Kingdom Of Norway (1814-1905)

This article is part of a series on
  • Mountains
  • Peninsula
Viking Age
  • Old Norse
  • Viking
  • Thing
  • Mythology
  • Christianization
  • Northern Arc
Political entities
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Norway
  • Sweden
  • Iceland
Other topics
  • Languages
  • Scandinavism
  • Nordic Council
  • Monetary Union
  • Defence Union
  • Scandinavian Airlines

The Union between Sweden and Norway (Swedish: Svensk-norska unionen, Unionen mellan Sverige och Norge, Norwegian: Unionen mellom Norge og Sverige), officially the United Kingdoms of Sweden and Norway, comprised present-day Sweden and Norway between 1814 and 1905, when they were united under one monarch in a personal union.

Following the Treaty of Kiel and the declaration of Norwegian independence from their previous union with Denmark, a brief war with Sweden resulted in the Convention of Moss on 14 August and the subsequent Norwegian constitutional revision of 4 November 1814. On the same day, the Norwegian parliament elected Charles XIII of Sweden as King of Norway.

The events of 1814 resulted in a union of two sovereign states that had the same King, foreign policies and diplomatic representations. Each had its own independent laws, parliament, government, administration, church, army, and currency. However, the King mostly resided in Stockholm, Swedes were initially viceroys in Norway, and foreign policy was conducted by the king through the Swedish foreign ministry in Stockholm. Later in the 19th century, a union cabinet consisting of ministers from both countries was called to discuss matters of foreign policy.

On 7 July 1905, the union was unilaterally dissolved by the Norwegian parliament following the adoption of legislation to establish a separate Norwegian consular service, which was vetoed by king Oscar II. After negotiations in Karlstad, the peaceful dissolution of the union was formally recognized by Sweden on 26 October 1905. Prince Carl of Denmark was elected as the new King Haakon VII of Norway on 18 November and arrived in Christiania on 23 November.

Read more about Kingdom Of Norway (1814-1905):  Background, The Union, The Zenith of The Union 1844-1860, Prelude To Dissolution, Dissolution of The Union, 1905 in Retrospect

Other articles related to "norway":

Kingdom Of Norway (1814-1905) - 1905 in Retrospect
... of 1905 put an end to the uneasy Union between Sweden and Norwaythat was entered into in 1814 — reluctantly by Norway coerced by superior Swedish force ... while the dissolution of 1905 came about because Norwaytook the initiative ... The crisis of 1814 was triggered because Sweden saw Norwayas legitimate booty of war and as compensation for the loss of Finland in 1809, while Norwaybased its claim to independence on the principle of popular ...

Famous quotes containing the words kingdom and/or norway:

    He is a strong man who can hold down his opinion. A man cannot utter two or three sentences, without disclosing to intelligent ears precisely where he stands in life and thought, namely, whether in the kingdom of the senses and the understanding, or, in that of ideas and imagination, in the realm of intuitions and duty.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)

    Write about winter in the summer. Describe Norway as Ibsen did, from a desk in Italy; describe Dublin as James Joyce did, from a desk in Paris. Willa Cather wrote her prairie novels in New York City; Mark Twain wrote Huckleberry Finn in Hartford, Connecticut. Recently, scholars learned that Walt Whitman rarely left his room.
    Annie Dillard (b. 1945)