Karachi Agreement

The Karachi Agreement was a cease-fire agreement signed by Pakistan and India on the 27th of July 1949. It established a cease-fire line which could be monitored by observers from the United Nations. The Agreement was signed by the following:

  1. Honourable Mushtaq Ahmed Gurmani, Minister without Portfolio, Government of Pakistan.
  2. Sardar Mohammed Ibrahim Khan, the president of Azad Kashmir .
  3. Choudhry Ghulam Abbas, Head of All Jammu and Kashmir Muslim Conference.

Famous quotes containing the word agreement:

    No one can doubt, that the convention for the distinction of property, and for the stability of possession, is of all circumstances the most necessary to the establishment of human society, and that after the agreement for the fixing and observing of this rule, there remains little or nothing to be done towards settling a perfect harmony and concord.
    David Hume (1711–1776)