Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health - Deans of The School

Deans of The School

The official title of the head of the School has changed periodically between Director and Dean throughout the years. Originally the title was Director. In 1931, it was changed to Dean and in 1946 back to Director. In 1958, the title again became Dean. The Deans (Directors) of the Bloomberg School include:

  1. William H. Welch (1916—1927)
  2. William Henry Howell (1927—1931)
  3. Wade Hampton Frost (1931—1934)
  4. Allen W. Freeman (1934—1937)
  5. Lowell Reed (1937—1947)
  6. Ernest L. Stebbins (1947—1967)
  7. John C. Hume (1967—1977)
  8. Donald A. Henderson (1977—1990)
  9. Alfred Sommer (1990—2005)
  10. Michael J. Klag (2005—present)

Read more about this topic:  Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School Of Public Health

Famous quotes containing the words school and/or deans:

    Anyone who has been to an English public school will always feel comparatively at home in prison. It is the people brought up in the gay intimacy of the slums ... who find prison so soul-destroying.
    Evelyn Waugh (1903–1966)

    In a large university, there are as many deans and executive heads as there are schools and departments. Their relations to one another are intricate and periodic; in fact, “galaxy” is too loose a term: it is a planetarium of deans with the President of the University as a central sun. One can see eclipses, inner systems, and oppositions.
    Jacques Barzun (b. 1907)