Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, Aligarh - Department of Studies - Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Late Prof. Masood Hasan Khan established the unit of Plastic Surgery in 1977, for which the University Grants Commission gave a teaching post and a grant of Rs. 1.6 Lakhs. M.Ch (Plastic Surgery) was started as a two years course in July 1989 with one intake per year. Dr. Arshad Hafeez Khan was the first to be enrolled for the M.Ch. course. Since then, 21 candidates have successfully completed the course from this institution. Plastic Surgery was established as a separate department in 2005.

Plastic Surgery is the only super speciality department in the faculty of medicine conducting an M.C.I. recognised course in M.Ch. Plastic Surgery. The intake is through an all India entrance test with two candidates per year since 2002. The department has four faculty members.

Plastic Surgery runs OPDs, and caters for emergencies round the clock, such as burns, road traffic accidents/assaults, faciomaxillary trauma and hand injuries.

It has 50 beds for indoor admitted patients out of which eight beds are exclusively meant for major burns patients. It has an elective operation theatre running six days a week.

Read more about this topic:  Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, Aligarh, Department of Studies

Famous quotes containing the words surgery, department and/or plastic:

    Ever since surgery began, man’s destiny has been to suffer, in order that he might be cured. And no one can change that, gentlemen.
    Jean Scott Rogers, and Robert Day. Mr. Blount (Frank Pettingell)

    We all live in a house on fire, no fire department to call; no way out, just the upstairs window to look out of while the fire burns the house down with us trapped, locked in it.
    Tennessee Williams (1914–1983)

    And I threw a little earth
    on the pink coffin
    covered by the fake plastic grass
    and said O.K., God,
    if it’s the end of the world,
    it must be necessary.
    Anne Sexton (1928–1974)