Jan Janssen

Jan Janssen

Grand Tours

Tour de France
General Classification (1968)
Points classification (1964, 1965, 1967)
7 individual stages
Vuelta a España
General Classification (1967)
Points Classification (1967, 1968)
3 individual stages

Stage Races

Paris-Nice (1964)
Ronde van Nederland (1965)

Single-Day Races and Classics

World Road Race Champion (1964)
Bordeaux–Paris (1966)
Paris-Roubaix (1967)
Züri-Metzgete (1962)
Medal record
Competitor for the Netherlands
Road bicycle racing
World Championships
Gold 1964 Sallanches Elite Men's Road Race
Silver 1967 Heerlen Elite Men's Road Race
Infobox last updated on
April 28, 2007

Johannes Adrianus Janssen, known as Jan Janssen (born 19 May 1940, Nootdorp) is a Dutch former professional cyclist (1962–1973). He was world champion and winner of the Tour de France and the Vuelta a España. He was the first Dutch rider to win the Tour de France and the first to win the Vuelta a España.

Janssen was born at Nootdorp, a small town near The Hague and Delft. He later moved to Putte, a village on the Belgian border between Roosendaal and Antwerp. He rode the Tour de France eight times and finished all but the first time. He won seven stages and wore the yellow jersey for two days (after stage 16 in 1966 and after stage 22B in 1968). He was easily spotted in the peloton because of his blond hair and his glasses.

Read more about Jan JanssenCareer, Retirement, Personality, Views of Modern Racing, Palmares

Other articles related to "jan janssen, janssen":

Jan Janssen (disambiguation)
... Jan Janssen (born 1940) is a Dutch road bicycle racer ... Jan Janssen may also refer to Jan Janssen (gymnast) (1885–1953), Dutch Olympic gymnast Jan Janssen (ice hockey) (born 1952), former ice hockey player ...
UCI Road World Championships – Men's Road Race - Medalists
... Reims details Theo Middelkamp (NED) Albert Sercu (BEL) Sjef Janssen (NED) 1948 Valkenburg details Briek Schotte (BEL) Apo Lazarides (FRA) Lucien Teisseire (FRA) 1949 Copenhagen details Rik Van ...
Jan Janssen - Palmares - Grand Tour Results Timeline
... Rik Van Looy 1962 Jean Stablinski 1963 Benoni Beheyt 1964 Jan Janssen 1965 Tom Simpson 1966 Rudi Altig 1967 Eddy Merckx 1968 Vittorio Adorni 1969 Harm Ottenbros 1970 Jean-Pierre Monseré 1971 Eddy Merckx 1972 Marino ...
Peter Post - Six-day Wins
25 1965 Essen Rik van Steenbergen 1965 ... Antwerp Klaus Bugdahl and Jan Janssen 1965 ... Dortmund Fritz Pfenninger 1965 ... Brussels Tom Simpson 1965 ... Zürich Fritz ...