Iranian Premier League - History - Iran Pro League - Persian Gulf Cup

On August 12, 2006, the Iranian Football Federation decided to change the name of the league once again. The name of the league now is the Persian Gulf Cup. This was done to promote the name of the Persian Gulf, instead of the many variations which some nations and organizations use which Iran disputes. The league logo was also changed, with the winner being selected from over 130 designs and unveiled on November 14, 2006. Saipa was the 6th team to win the 6th new edition of the league which meant 6 different teams won 6 leagues in the row. But in 2008 Persepolis regained the title after 6 years by the dramatic win again the rival Sepahan on the 96th minute of the final match and become the first team that won two titles in the new edition of the Iranian League. The next season Esteghlal did the same thing and won the league for second time on the final match day. Sepahan's dominance started in 2009-10 season where they won the league before the final match day and the same thing happened in the next season. But in 2011-12 they had a more difficult job to repeat the glory and they won it on the final match day for the third time in a row which is a new record in the history of the Iranian League.

Read more about this topic:  Iranian Premier League, History, Iran Pro League

Other articles related to "cup, persian gulf cup":

Hamed Kavianpour - Club Career - Club Career Statistics
... Last Update 24 May 2010 Club performance League Cup Continental Total Season Club League Apps Goals Apps Goals Apps Goals Apps Goals Iran League Hazfi Cup Asia Total 1998-99 Persepolis ...
AFC Champions League 2009 - Qualified Teams
... West Asia (Group A-D) Team Qualification App* Group stage Persepolis 2007–08 Persian Gulf Cup champions 2nd Esteghlal 2007–08 Hazfi Cup winners 2nd Sepahan 2007–08 Persian Gulf Cup runners-up 5th Saba Battery. 3rd Gamba OsakaTH 2008–09 Emperor's Cup winners 3rd Kawasaki Frontale 2008 J ... champions 2nd Pohang Steelers 2008 Korean FA Cup winners 2nd FC Seoul 2008 K-League runners-up 1st Ulsan Hyundai Horang-i 2008 K-League 3rd place 2nd Newcastle United Jets 2007–08 A-League champions 1st ...

Famous quotes containing the words cup, persian and/or gulf:

    The cup of blessing that we bless, is it not a sharing in the blood of Christ? The bread that we break, is it not a sharing in the body of Christ?
    Bible: New Testament, 1 Corinthians 10:16.

    Oh! thou clear spirit of clear fire, whom on these seas I as Persian once did worship, till in the sacramental act so burned by thee, that to this hour I bear the scar; I now know thee, thou clear spirit, and I now know that thy right worship is defiance. To neither love nor reverence wilt thou be kind; and e’en for hate thou canst but kill; and all are killed. No fearless fool now fronts thee.
    Herman Melville (1819–1891)

    And into the gulf between cantankerous reality and the male ideal of shaping your world, sail the innocent children. They are right there in front of us—wild, irresponsible symbols of everything else we can’t control.
    Hugh O’Neill (20th century)