The InterLiga was a football competition from 2004 to 2010 between Mexican clubs to determine qualifying spots for that country in South America's premier club competition, the Copa Libertadores.

Prior to the 2004 Copa Libertadores, Mexican clubs competed in two levels of competition—first against one another, and then against clubs from Venezuela—for spots in the main competition. In 2004, Mexico and Venezuela were granted automatic entries to the Copa Libertadores for the first time. The Mexican Football Federation decided to create a qualifying league for its two automatic spots, and the first InterLiga was held that January, during the off-season of the Mexican Primera División.

The eight qualifying teams were selected based on their combined results in the Apertura and Clausura phases of the Primera División, and divided into two groups of four, with even-numbered seeds in one group and odd-numbered seeds in the other. Each group was conducted as a single round-robin league. In order to assure a more neutral environment, and to take advantage of a large and relatively well-off pool of Mexican football fans, all matches were held in the United States in California and Texas, two states with large Mexican populations. The winners of each group then played in a final for one of the two Libertadores berths. The loser of the final had a second chance to earn the other berth, as it would compete in a play-in game against the winner of a match against the two second-place finishers from each group.

The actual league champions are currently excluded from the InterLiga as they qualify for the CONCACAF Champions League, which is contested during the same time period as the Libertadores, and whose prize is a spot in the FIFA Club World Cup. Mexican teams would not be eligible for the latter competition if they won the Libertadores because Mexico belongs to CONCACAF.

Read more about InterLigaTournaments, Participations, History Topscorers

Other articles related to "interliga":

Copa Libertadores 2008 - Qualified Teams
... had a Mini-League (Liguilla) to determine who qualified, and Mexico usds the InterLiga to determine two of its qualifiers ... Guadalajara 2006 Apertura champion América 2008 InterLiga winner Atlas 2008 InterLiga runner-up ...
2009 Inter Liga - Qualification
... Libertadores Second Stage 2 Toluca 16 ... +9 2009 ... InterLiga 3 Atlante 16 ... +6 27 Not eligible 4 UNAM 13 ... +9 5 ... Cruz Azul 5. 5 ...
Primera División De México Apertura 2008 - Classification Phase - Standings
... Luis 20 ... +4 2009 ... Copa Libertadores Second Stage 2 Toluca 16 ... +9 2009 ... InterLiga 3 Atlante 16 ... +6 4 ... UNAM 13 ... +9 5 ... Cruz Azul 17 ...
2005 Inter Liga
... on play during the league season, but retained InterLiga for the other two spots ("Mexico 2" and "Mexico 3") ... The group phase of InterLiga remained the same as in 2004, but the final games were changed ... The 2005 InterLiga was again played in California and Texas, and expanded into Arizona ...
Reinaldo Navia - Club Career - América
... He made his club debut in the InterLiga 2004 in a 3–2 victory over Atlante, scoring a twice during the game ... On 14 January, he again scored for InterLiga, now against his former club Morelia in a 3–1 away win ... Finally América was champion of the InterLiga qualifying to the Copa Libertadores and Navia was the goalscorer of the tournament with 6 goals ...