ICC Champions Trophy

The ICC Champions Trophy is a One Day International (ODI) cricket tournament organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC), second in importance only to the Cricket World Cup. It was inaugurated as the ICC Knock Out Tournament in 1998 and has been played approximately every two years since, its name changing to the Champions Trophy in 2002. The number of teams competing has varied over the years; originally all the ICC's full members took part, and from 2000 to 2004 associate members were also involved. Since 2009, the tournament has only involved the eight highest-ranked ODI teams as of six months prior to the tournament. The ICC intends that the 2013 Champions Trophy will be the last, with its place in the cricketing calendar taken by a new ICC World Test Championship.

Read more about ICC Champions TrophyFormat, Results, Overview

Other articles related to "champions, icc champions trophy":

Lists Of Tennis Players
... championship List of Australian Open champions List of French Open champions List of Wimbledon champions List of U.S ... Open champions ...
History Of The Australian Cricket Team - Tournament History - ICC Champions Trophy
... The Australian cricket team finally captured victory in the ICC Champions Trophy series after beating the West Indies in the final of the 2006 series and backed ...
Cricket Club Of India - ICC Champions Trophy
... The Cricket Club of India Limited staged 5 matches of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2006 including the final between Australia and West Indies played on 5 November 2006 ...

Famous quotes containing the word champions:

    While the Governor, and the Mayor, and countless officers of the Commonwealth are at large, the champions of liberty are imprisoned.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)