I Evighet

"I evighet" (For eternity) is a song by Elisabeth Andreassen, The original lyrics were written by Wendell Miller of U.S.A.,and melody written by Torhild Nigar of Norway, copyright 1986 (PAu000806830 copyright no.U.S.Copyright Office) (Wendell and Torhild Music) was the Norwegian entry in the Eurovision Song Contest 1996.

The song is a ballad, with Andreassen singing about the eternal nature of love. She sings that this is a constant in the world, even outlasting the days and years which move forwards.

The song was performed twelfth on the night, following Estonia's Maarja-Liis Ilus and Ivo Linna with "Kaelakee hääl" and preceding France's Dan Ar Braz & L'Héritage des Celtes with "Diwanit Bugale". At the close of voting, it had received 114 points, placing 2nd in a field of 23.

"I Evighet" was translated into Swedish, with the lyrics being co-written by Thorhild Nigar, Elisabeth Andreassen and Åsa Jinder and the title remaining the same. An English-language release (titled "Eternity") was also made.

In 1998, the song was re-written in German as "Wir sind dabei", as part of the hundredth anniversary celebrations for the German sporting federation. The re-titled "Wir sind dabei" was adopted as the official song of this celebration, held in Munich, with Andreassen performing it frequently and in a number of different language versions. This version is unique among the translations as it focuses on the positive aspects of sport, rather than the original theme of the eternity of love.

It was succeeded as Norwegian representative at the 1997 contest by Tor Endresen with "San Francisco".

Eurovision Song Contest 1996
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom
  • Spain
  • Portugal
  • Cyprus
  • Malta
  • Croatia
  • Austria
  • Switzerland
  • Greece
  • Estonia
  • Norway
  • France
  • Slovenia
  • Netherlands
  • Belgium
  • Ireland
  • Finland
  • Iceland
  • Poland
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Slovakia
  • Sweden
Pre-qualifying round
  • Denmark
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Israel
  • Macedonia
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Şebnem Paker
  • Gina G
  • Antonio Carbonell
  • Lúcia Moniz
  • Constantinos
  • Miriam Christine
  • Maja Blagdan
  • George Nussbaumer
  • Kathy Leander
  • Mariana Efstratiou
  • Maarja-Liis Ilus & Ivo Linna
  • Elisabeth Andreassen
  • Dan Ar Braz & L'Héritage des Celtes
  • Regina
  • Maxine & Franklin Brown
  • Lisa del Bo
  • Eimear Quinn
  • Jasmine
  • Anna Mjöll
  • Kasia Kowalska
  • Amila Glamočak
  • Marcel Palonder
  • One More Time
Pre-qualifying round
  • Dorthe Andersen & Martin Loft
  • Leon
  • Gjon Delhusa
  • Galit Bell
  • Kaliopi
  • Monica Anghel & Sincron
  • Andrej Kosinskij
  • "Beşinci Mevsim"
  • "Ooh Aah... Just a Little Bit"
  • "¡Ay, qué deseo!"
  • "O meu coração não tem cor"
  • "Mono Yia Mas"
  • "In A Woman's Heart"
  • "Sveta ljubav"
  • "Weil's dr guat got"
  • "Mon cœur l'aime"
  • "Emeis Forame to Himona Anixiatika"
  • "Kaelakee hääl"
  • "I evighet"
  • "Diwanit Bugale"
  • "Dan najlepših sanj"
  • "De eerste keer"
  • "Liefde is een kaartspel"
  • "The Voice"
  • "Niin kaunis on taivas"
  • "Sjúbídú"
  • "Chcę znać swój grzech..."
  • "Za našu ljubav"
  • "Kým nás máš"
  • "Den vilda"
Pre-qualifying round
  • "Kun med dig"
  • "Planet of Blue"
  • "Fortuna"
  • "Shalom Olam"
  • "Samo ti"
  • "Rugă pentru pacea lumii"
  • "Ja eto ja"