Humphries Ministry

The Humphries Ministry was the seventh ministry of the Government of the Australian Capital Territory, and was led by Liberal Chief Minister Gary Humphries and his deputy, Brendan Smyth. It was sworn in on 19 October 2000, after the forced resignation of Humphries' predecessor Kate Carnell over the Bruce Stadium affair, and the elevation of Deputy Chief Minister Humphries and new deputy Smyth.

Though Carnell resigned from parliament upon losing the Chief Minister position, she was initially sworn into an interim junior portfolio in the ministry of her successor, until a full ministry could be sworn in in December. The ministry operated until 13 November 2001, when the Labor First Stanhope Ministry was sworn in after the Liberal defeat in the 2001 election.

Read more about Humphries MinistryFirst Arrangement, Second Arrangement

Other articles related to "humphries ministry, ministry, humphries":

Humphries Ministry - Second Arrangement
... Carnell was not replaced in the ministry, and Humphries decided to continue to the election with only four ministers after distributing Carnell's portfolios among the remaining members ... Office Minister Chief Minister Minister for Community Affairs Treasurer Gary Humphries Deputy Chief Minister Minister for Urban Services Minister for ...

Famous quotes containing the word ministry:

    the eave-drops fall
    Heard only in the trances of the blast,
    Or if the secret ministry of frost
    Shall hang them up in silent icicles,
    Quietly shining to the quiet Moon.
    Samuel Taylor Coleridge (1772–1834)