History of The Hellenic Republic

The history of the Hellenic Republic constitutes three discrete republican periods in the modern history of Greece: from 1822 until 1832; from 1924 until 1935; and from 1974 through to the present. See also the constitutional history of Greece.

Read more about History Of The Hellenic Republic:  First Hellenic Republic (1822–1832), Second Hellenic Republic (1924–1935), Third Hellenic Republic (1974-)

Other articles related to "history of the hellenic republic, hellenic republic, republic":

History Of The Hellenic Republic - Third Hellenic Republic (1974-)
... See also Metapolitefsi The current Third Hellenic Republic (Greek Γʹ Ελληνική Δημοκρατία) was declared in 1974 during the period of metapolitefsi, after ... which established a presidential republic (with junta leader Georgios Papadopoulos as President) ... The Republic was maintained, but was nothing more than a façade for the military regime until August 1974, when the Turkish invasion of Cyprus led to ...

Famous quotes containing the words history of, republic and/or history:

    We said that the history of mankind depicts man; in the same way one can maintain that the history of science is science itself.
    Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe (1749–1832)

    Who is this Renaissance? Where did he come from? Who gave him permission to cram the Republic with his execrable daubs?
    Mark Twain [Samuel Langhorne Clemens] (1835–1910)

    In nature, all is useful, all is beautiful. It is therefore beautiful, because it is alive, moving, reproductive; it is therefore useful, because it is symmetrical and fair. Beauty will not come at the call of a legislature, nor will it repeat in England or America its history in Greece. It will come, as always, unannounced, and spring up between the feet of brave and earnest men.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)