Hertzog Prize

The Hertzog Prize or (Hertzogprys) is an annual award given to Afrikaans-language writers by the South African Academy for the Sciences and Arts (Suid-Afrikaanse Akademie vir Wetenskap en Kuns), formerly the South African Academy for Language, Literature and Arts (Zuid-Afrikaanse Akademie voor Wetenschap, Letteren en Kunst). It is the most prestigious prize in Afrikaans literature.

The prize was first established in 1914 as part of the Tweede Taalbeweging ("Second Language Movement"); its first winner was Totius for his 1915 poetry collection Trekkerswee (Trekkers' Grief). The prize is awarded in the categories of poetry, prose, and drama.

Other articles related to "hertzog prize, prize":

Karel Schoeman - Awards and Honours
1970 Hertzog Prize for By Fakkellig, n Lug Vol Helder Wolke Spiraal 1972 CNA Prize for Na die Geliefde Land 1983 Recht Malan Prize (for non-fiction) for Vrystaatse ... Hofmyer Prize for n Ander Land 1986 Hertzog Prize for n Ander Land 1988 Helgaard Steyn Prize for n Ander Land 1990 SABC Prize for Best Television Drama for Op ...

Famous quotes containing the word prize:

    Knowing I loved my books, he furnished me
    From mine own library with volumes that
    I prize above my dukedom.
    William Shakespeare (1564–1616)