Herefordshire (UK Parliament Constituency)

Herefordshire (UK Parliament Constituency)

The county constituency of Herefordshire, in the West Midlands of England bordering on Wales, was abolished when the county was divided for parliamentary purposes in 1885. It was a constituency of the House of Commons of the Parliament of England, then of the Parliament of Great Britain from 1707 to 1800 and of the Parliament of the United Kingdom from 1801 to 1885.

The undivided county was represented from 1290 by two Knights of the Shire until 1832 and three thereafter. After the county was split two new county constituencies were created, the North division or Leominster and the South division or Ross.

Read more about Herefordshire (UK Parliament Constituency):  Boundaries

Other related articles:

Herefordshire (UK Parliament Constituency) - Members of Parliament - 1832–1885
... Election First member First party Second member Second party Third member Third party 1832 Edward Thomas Foley Tory Kedgwin Hoskins Liberal Sir Robert Price, Bt Liberal 1834 Conservative 1841 Thomas Baskerville Conservative Joseph Bailey Conservative 1847 Francis Richard Haggitt (F.R ... Wegg-Prosser, 1849) Conservative George Cornewall Lewis Liberal 1850 Thomas William Booker-Blakemore Conservative 1852 James King King Conservative Hon ...

Famous quotes containing the word parliament:

    He felt that it would be dull times in Dublin, when they should have no usurping government to abuse, no Saxon Parliament to upbraid, no English laws to ridicule, and no Established Church to curse.
    Anthony Trollope (1815–1882)