Gwangju (officially known as Gwangju Metropolitan City; ) is the sixth largest city in South Korea.

It is a designated metropolitan city under the direct control of the central government's Home Minister. The city was also the capital of South Jeolla Province until the provincial office moved to the southern village of Namak in Muan County in 2005.

Gwang (광, hanja 光) means "light" and Ju (주, hanja 州) means "province." Areas of exquisite scenery along the outskirts of the city gave birth to gasa, a form of Korean classical poetry. Located in the center of the agricultural Jeolla region, the city is also famous for its rich and diverse cuisine.

Read more about GwangjuHistory, Administrative Divisions, Climate, Education, Transportation, Tourism, Culture, Sports, Cityscape, Sister Cities

Other articles related to "gwangju":

Hwanggeum-dong, Gwangju
... Hwanggeum-dong is a ward of Dong District, Gwangju, South Korea. ...
Ahn Sung-Nam - Club Career - Gwangju FC
... On January 2011, Ahn Sung-Nam joined Gwangju FC on loan for 1 year ... a loan spell, he completed his free transfer to Gwangju on 25 December 2011 ...
History - P_A_U_S_E: The 4th Gwangju Biennale (29th March To 29th June 2002)
... Curated by Charles Esche, Hou Hanru, and SUNG Wan Kyung, the theme of the fourth Gwangju Biennale, "P_A_U_S_E", was adopted from the Eastern concept of ...