Gujarat - Sub-divisions


Main article: Districts of Gujarat

On 1960-05-01, Gujarat was created out of the 17 northern districts of former State of Bombay. These districts were further subdivided later on. There are 26 administrative districts in the state (as of 2007). Vallabhbhai Patel was independent India's first Deputy Prime Minister and Home Minister; played a key role in political integration of India, and was conferred with a posthumous Bharat Ratna award in 1991.

Largest cities or towns of Gujarat
2011 Census
Rank City name District Pop.

1 Ahmedabad Ahmedabad 6,352,254
2 Surat Surat 4,462,002
3 Vadodara Vadodara 2,100,000
4 Rajkot Rajkot 2,000,000
5 Bhavnagar Bhavnagar 6,00,000
6 Jamnagar Jamnagar 5,00,000
7 Surendranagar city Surendranagar 397,000
8 Anand, Gujarat Anand district 300,462
9 Junagadh Junagadh 285,000
10 Gandhinagar Gandhinagar 195,985

Read more about this topic:  Gujarat

Other related articles:

Railway Divisions In Germany - Germany - State Railway Divisions - Sub-divisions
... For example, the "Royal Berlin Division of the State Railways" was divided into eleven external "traffic operating offices" (Betriebsämter) for the routes shown Three in Berlin a) Stadtbahn and Ringbahn, b) Berlin-Sommerfeld, c) Berlin-Dresden, Two in Breslau a) Breslau-Sommerfeld, b) Breslau-Halbstadt, Two in Stettin a) Berlin-Stettin, b) Stettin-Stralsund One each in Görlitz, Stralsund, Kottbus and Guben Following its restructuring on 1 April 1895 the Berlin division had nine operating inspectorates (Betriebsinspektionen) three engineering inspectorates (Maschineninspektionen) thirteen workshop inspectorates (Werkstätteninspektionen) a telegraph inspectorate (Telegrafeninspektion) and four traffic inspectorates (Verkehrsinspektionen) ... In addition to the president, the workforce comprised 15 members of the board, 10 assistants, an accounts director, an accounts manager and 580 office workers ...